Risk Management Certificate


Complete our three risk courses and earn your Risk Management Certificate. 
To grow your career further, pass the standardized exam for each course (administered by GRMI and separate from the IIC course exams) and you will earn your Canadian Risk Management (CRM) designation. 

Risk Management program requirements

3 Mandatory courses & IIC exams
3 GRMI exams for the CRM

The Insurance Institute’s risk management courses meet the foundational course requirements for the Canadian Risk Management (CRM) designation. The CRM is recognized by RIMS and awarded by the Global Risk Management Institute (GRMI).

Once you have registered for an Insurance Institute risk management course, you can contact GRMI to register for the corresponding GRMI exam.


We recommend you take the courses in order.


Each Insurance Institute Risk Management course has its own final examination. You can write these exams either through our Virtual Proctoring system or in person at one of our examination centres. For the CRM designation, you will also need to pass the separate CRM exams offered by GRMI.