About the Governing Council

Malheureusement, ce contenu n’est actuellement pas offert en français. Veuillez communiquer avec le Service aux membres, au 1 866 362-8585 ou avec l’institut/la section de votre région afin d’obtenir de l’aide.

The Governing Council is made up of ten industry leaders from across Ontario. These individuals are indispensable to our governance as they provide strategic direction that significantly impacts the success of the Insurance Institute of Ontario (IIO). These industry professionals oversee the academic, business, and student affairs of the IIO. All council members generously give their time, expertise, skills and knowledge.

Only CIP Society members in good standing can be appointed to the Council.

Council Members 2019 - 2020

Executive Committee

Joe Colby, CIP
Echelon Insurance

Deputy President
Ross McDougall
McDougall Insurance and Financial

Senior Vice President
Dave Smiley, BSc, FCIP
Unica Insurance

Andrew Steen
Berkley Canada

Tracy Krunic, BBA, FCIP
Canada Brokerlink (Ontario) Inc.

Vice President - Academic Division
J. Gregory Knowles, FCIP
Totten Group

Vice President - Professionals' Division
Greg Smith, MBA, FCIP, CRM
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.

Vice President - Regional Division
Lissa Seguin, FCIP
The Co-operators

Past President
Heidi Sevcik, FCIP
Gore Mutual Insurance Company

General Manager
Peter Hohman, MBA, FCIP, ICD.D
The Insurance Institute of Canada


Mike Divjak, BComm, FCIP, CRM
VP, Operations, Insurance Institute of Canada

Harry Vizl, CPA, CA
Director, Finance, Insurance Institute of Canada

Margaret Wasserman, BSc (Hons.), CIP
Senior Director, Insurance Institute of Ontario

Learn more about the Governing Council and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the Insurance Institute of Ontario:

18 King St East, 16th Floor, Toronto, ON M5C 1C4
(t) 416-362-8586 (e) IIOmail@insuranceinstitute.ca