Cyberbullying

An Insurance Response to Help Cyberbullying Victims

June 2017 | Ingrid Sapona

The topic of cyberbullying has been on the insurance industry’s radar over the past few years on both the personal and commercial side. In this trends paper we focus on the personal lines side.

For the most part, the personal lines sector’s focus has been on coverage of the family of someone accused of cyberbullying and on the possible impact of cyberbullying-related claims on the industry. The type of scenario that’s typically considered is something like this: if a lawsuit is brought against a minor child of a homeowner for damages caused by the child’s alleged cyberbullying, might the parents’ homeowners insurer have to provide a defence or pay a settlement or verdict in that suit? The answer, of course, turns on the unique facts of the situation and the analysis revolves around the policy wording, the form of the legal pleadings (for example, whether the plaintiff sues the parents under a negligent supervision theory), and so on.

But what about insurance coverage of costs incurred by someone who is the subject – the victim – of cyberbullying? Realizing the devastating impact cyberbullying has on victims, at least one innovative insurer has introduced coverage designed to help mitigate some of the costs victims of cyberbullying face as they try to recover from incidents of cyberbullying. In this trends paper we’ll take a look at the insurance coverage available for victims.

What is cyberbullying?

Cyberbullying is basically bullying conducted with the aid of cell phones, computers, and other electronic devices. To better understand it, therefore, it’s useful to start with a definition of bullying. One definition frequently referred to in Canadian academic reports posits that bullying is a systemic abuse of power involving unjustified and repeated acts intended to inflict physical, emotional, or social harm. The impact of bullying can be direct, such as physical and verbal teasing, or indirect, such as social exclusion and spreading nasty rumours.

Cyberbullying is basically bullying on steroids. To put it another way, “Cyber bullying has all the main characteristics of bullying but poses a greater harm as the manner in which the bullying is carried out has a larger reach and scope, creating a larger impact.” One of the significant ways cyberbullying differs from traditional bullying is that cyberbullying “doesn’t stop when you are out of sight of the bully”, which means victims can feel the impact 24/7 and home is no longer a safety zone. Additional features of cyberbullying that make it particularly insidious is that it can spread nearly instantly, can be anonymous, and can remain online indefinitely.

The forms that cyberbullying can take are as varied as the technologies used and as the imagination can create. In its 2013 report, the Coordinating Committee of Senior Officials (CCSO) noted the following as some of the forms cyberbullying takes:

• using email, instant messaging, and text messages to send harassing and threatening messages
• posting harassing or threatening messages in chat rooms, on “dash boards”, and on other social networking websites

• posting or electronic distribution of embarrassing pictures or videos, creation of websites that mock, torment, and harass the intended victim or victims

• using websites to create online polling or voting booths, allowing users of the website to vote on things like: the “ugliest” or “fattest” classmate.

Effects of Cyberbullying

Sadly, we all know of the tragic stories of Canadian teens like Amanda Todd and Rehtaeh Parsons who committed suicide after being cyberbullied. But victims who don’t go to the extreme of taking their own lives suffer very real effects from cyberbullying.

According to NOBullying.com, “Canadian bullying victims, who are bullied at least once a week, have a greater chance of experiencing dizziness, headaches, stomach aches, back aches and anxiety. Unfortunately, these issues can follow people into their adult lives unless treated by a mental health professional. … Other cyber bullying statistics in Canada show that victims are between 1.7 and 7.5 times more likely to feel alone, nervous, sad, sleepless, fatigued and helpless. Plus, cyber bullying victims are likely to attempt or succeed at suicide. Bullying also leaves victims with low self-esteem, academic challenges, aggressive behaviors and social withdrawal.”

In researching the prevalence of cyberbullying, the information is all over the map. Much of the statistics available is nearly a decade old, which makes it stale, given the increase in social media and smart phone use over the past 10 years. But, for reference purposes, it’s interesting to note that a 2014 Pew Research Center report found that online harassment was fairly common among internet users in the U.S., with 40% of online adults experiencing some form of online harassment, and 65% of online users age 18 to 29 experiencing some form of online harassment. According to the most recent Canadian statistics available, which are also from a 2014 survey, one in five Canadian internet users age 15 to 29 reported having been cyberbullied or cyber stalked.

Innovative Coverage

In mid-2016 Chubb introduced a first-of-its-kind coverage to provide support for Canadians who have been the victim of cyberbullying. The coverage is part of its Masterpiece® Family ProtectionSM policy, which it offers to its clients that have a Chubb Masterpiece® policy on their residence.

“Our Family Protectionsm Coverage reflects the kinds of harms that exist in the modern world, and though bullying has been around for years, with cyberbullying it’s moved to a platform that makes it more pervasive and more a part of our world,” says Paul Johnstone, Senior Vice President, Chubb Personal Risk Services, Canada. The Family Protection Coverage covers costs a covered person might incur as a result of being a victim of various crimes, including: home invasion, child abduction, carjacking, stalking threats, road rage, hijacking, and cyberbullying.

“Our motivation for adding cyberbullying coverage wasn’t to bring in new premium. What we focused on is ‘how do we take care of our customers’. We see this coverage as a way to address an emerging issue – a real issue – and as a way for Chubb to step up and help our valued insureds,” Johnstone says. “Another positive about having such coverage in the market is that it has sparked a healthy dialog and brought awareness to the harms suffered by victims of cyberbullying.”

Anthea McFarland, Senior Vice President Personal Lines at HUB, agrees that Chubb’s policy has helped bring awareness to cyberbullying. “Insurers are always trying to stay up-to-date on what’s going on and on the commercial side, there’s a lot of discussion about cyber coverage. It’s great to now have coverage for victims of cyberbullying. When we’ve brought it to our insured’s attention, it’s been well received,” she said.

Chubb’s policy covers cyberbullying expenses related to a cyberbullying occurrence committed against the policyholder or a family member. In other words, it’s not limited to bullying of minors. To be covered, the bullying must result in:

• debilitating shock, mental anguish, or mental injury as diagnosed by a professional, that leads to the inability to attend school or work full-time for more than a week, or
• wrongful termination, false arrest, or wrongful discipline by a governing official or body of a school.

The triggering event for the insurance is a “cyberbullying occurrence”, which is defined fairly broadly as two or more similar or related acts of harassment or intimidation, including defamation of character, invasion of privacy or threats of violence. The occurrence must be by computer, telephone, portable device (for example, a smart phone or tablet), or any similar electronic device or means. Interestingly, according to Johnstone, the harassment doesn’t have to be public or broadly publicized.

Expenses covered by the policy include:

• psychiatric services
• costs incurred for rest and recuperation prescribed by a physician or authorized mental health professional
• salary due to wrongful termination
• temporary relocation expenses
• costs for temporary private tutoring or increased school expenses if a student changes schools
• public relations and reputation management expenses
• costs for professional and cyber security professionals

When asked about the scope of the coverage in “extreme cases,” Johnstone explained that, for example, in the unthinkable event that a family member commits suicide as a result of a cyberbullying occurrence, the policy would pay for covered expenses incurred by grieving family members.

There are maximum payouts for different types of expenses covered and an overall limit of $60,000 for a cyberbullying occurrence. In terms of how Chubb decided what kinds of expenses they would cover with respect to a cyberbullying occurrence, Johnstone explained, “We always have a lot of dialog with customers, brokers, and our claims team and we noticed we were getting inquiries about these kinds of expenses.”

It’s noteworthy that legal fees and expenses incurred by a policyholder, for example, to bring a suit against a cyberbully, are not covered. Johnstone explains that the rationale for excluding legal fees is simple. “We don’t include legal fees because we’re not here to enforce the law. The policy is meant to help the individual – to take care of Chubb insureds by providing some kind of support to families if they’re victims of cyberbullying”.

Underwriting and premium cost

Johnstone says there are no underwriting issues related to the coverage. “We don’t offer Family Protectionsm Coverage on a mono-line basis, so once we’ve underwritten an insured for a Masterpiece® Policy, the Family Protectionsm Coverage can be added on for the additional premium of $110.” The relatively low premium reflects the fact that the risks included under the Family Protectionsm Coverage are not common, says Johnstone, but they do occur far too frequently.

It should also be noted that there’s no deductible under the policy and making a claim does not impact the insured’s loss-free claims record, according to Johnstone.

Conclusion

Like much of society, the insurance industry has really started focusing on the impact of cyberbullying. The public discussion related to cyberbullying generally focuses on the devastating impact on those who are bullied – particularly teenage victims. In contrast, to a large degree, the insurance industry’s discussion has been on the possible impact to the industry of liability claims related to defending against cyberbullying accusations. Some insurers have decided that offering liability coverage for homeowners to “help parents and guardians respond sensitively and effectively in instances where a teen or adolescent is accused of cyberbullying” is an effective way to raise awareness of cyberbullying

At least one insurer, however, has decided to focus on what they can do to provide direct help to victims of cyberbullying. They’ve done so by crafting a policy that covers cyberbullying victims’ expenses for things like psychiatric services, costs associated with temporary relocation, education expenses, and so on. As for whether other insurers begin providing similar coverage, Chubb’s Johnstone wouldn’t be surprised if they did because he thinks providing such coverage is good for insureds. “We have no proprietary interest in providing good coverage and insurers have a responsibility to evolve with the needs of society and our customers,” he says. It will be interesting to see whether other insurers follow suit.

Cyber risks research report

Cyber: the risk most underestimated by businesses

Two ways to learn more

(1) Read the CIP Society's trends paper Cyber Risk: Current Landscape of Personal Information and Privacy Liability in Canada, published in May 2016, one year after the Emerging Issues Research Report, to offer updates on claims cases in Canada, and (2) Expand your product knowledge and deepen your understanding of cyber through our CE OnDemand course: Managing and Insuring Cyber Risk.

 

ADVANTAGE Monthly trends papers

This paper is part of an open online library of ADVANTAGE Monthly trends papers, published by the CIP Society for the benefit of its members and of the p&c insurance industry. The trends papers provide a detailed analysis of emerging trends and issues, include context and impact, and commentary from experts in the field.

The CIP Society represents more than 17,000 graduates of the Insurance Institute’s Fellowship (FCIP) and Chartered Insurance Professional (CIP) programs. As the professionals’ division of the Insurance Institute of Canada, the Society’s mission is to advance the education, experience, ethics and excellence of our members. The Society provides a number of programs that promote the CIP and FCIP designations, continuous professional development, professional ethics, mentoring, national leaderships awards, and research on the issues impacting the p&c insurance industry in Canada.

La cyberintimidation

UNE SOLUTION D’ASSURANCE POUR LES VICTIMES DE CYBERINTIMIDATION

Juin 2017    |    Par Ingrid Sapona

La cyberintimidation est dans la mire de l’industrie de l’assurance depuis quelques années, et ce, tant du côté de l’assurance des particuliers que des entreprises. Dans le présent article, nous nous pencherons sur la cyberintimidation dans le contexte de l’assurance des particuliers.

 

Dans l’ensemble, le secteur de l’assurance des particuliers s’est concentré sur la protection des familles de personnes accusées de cyberintimidation, ainsi que sur l’impact éventuel, pour l’industrie, des réclamations liées à la cyberintimidation. Le scénario généralement envisagé ressemble à celui-ci : si un mineur accusé de dommages liés à la cyberintimidation fait l’objet de poursuites, l’assureur habitation de ses parents pourrait-il être tenu d’assurer sa défense, ou de verser les sommes exigées en règlement de la poursuite? La réponse dépend évidemment des faits propres à chaque situation, et l’analyse repose notamment sur le libellé de la police et sur le type d’allégations formulées (par exemple, si les parents sont poursuivis pour avoir fait preuve de négligence en matière de supervision).

 

Mais qu’en est-il d’une assurance destinée à couvrir les dépenses engagées par les victimes de cyberintimidation? Conscient des répercussions dévastatrices de ce type d’agression, au moins un assureur innovateur a créé une garantie visant à atténuer certains des coûts auxquels les victimes font face lorsqu’elles tentent de se remettre d’un tel incident. Le présent article s’intéressera à la protection d’assurance offerte aux victimes de cyberintimidation.

 

Qu’est-ce que la cyberintimidation?

 

La cyberintimidation est une forme d’intimidation perpétrée par l’intermédiaire de téléphones cellulaires, d’ordinateurs ou d’autres dispositifs électroniques. Pour mieux la comprendre, il est donc utile de définir l’intimidation elle-même. Selon une définition fréquemment utilisée dans les rapports universitaires canadiens, l’intimidation consiste en un abus de pouvoir systémique qui se caractérise par des actes injustifiés et répétés visant à infliger des souffrances physiques, émotionnelles ou sociales. L’intimidation peut prendre une forme directe, telle que des moqueries physiques ou verbales, ou indirecte, comme l’exclusion sociale et la propagation de rumeurs malveillantes.

 

Essentiellement, la cyberintimidation est une forme d’intimidation gonflée aux stéroïdes. Autrement dit, elle « possède toutes les principales caractéristiques de l’intimidation, mais elle est plus dévastatrice puisque les procédés utilisés ont une portée et une étendue plus larges, ce qui en décuple l’impact. » L’une des principales différences entre l’intimidation traditionnelle et la cyberintimidation est le fait que cette dernière « ne s’arrête pas lorsque la victime n’est plus en présence de l’intimidateur ». Les victimes peuvent donc en subir les conséquences à tout moment, et leur foyer ne constitue plus un refuge. D’autres caractéristiques rendent la cyberintimidation particulièrement insidieuse, dont la possibilité qu’elle se répande presque instantanément, qu’elle soit anonyme et qu’elle demeure en ligne indéfiniment.

 

La cyberintimidation peut prendre autant de formes que le permettent l’imagination et les technologies utilisées. Dans un rapport publié en 2013, le Comité de coordination des hauts fonctionnaires (CCHF) mentionnait les formes suivantes de cyberintimidation :

 

• l’envoi de messages harcelants ou menaçants par courriel, par messagerie instantanée ou encore par messages textes (textos);
• l’affichage de messages harcelants ou menaçants dans des clavardoirs, sur des babillards dédiés au dénigrement ou sur d’autres sites de réseautage social;
• la publication en ligne ou la distribution électronique de photos ou de messages embarrassants, et la création de sites Web pour se moquer d’une ou de plusieurs victimes, les tourmenter et les harceler;
• l’utilisation de sites Web pour créer des sondages ou des bureaux de scrutin en ligne dans lesquels leurs utilisateurs sélectionnent, par exemple, la compagne de classe la plus laide ou la plus grosse.

 

Les conséquences de la cyberintimidation

 

Hélas, nous avons tous entendu parler des histoires tragiques d’adolescentes canadiennes, telles qu’Amanda Todd et Rehtaeh Parsons, qui ont été poussées au suicide après avoir été victimes de cyberintimidation. Cependant, même les victimes qui ne vont pas jusqu’à s’enlever la vie subissent les conséquences très réelles de ce type d’agression.

 

Selon le site NOBullying.com, « les Canadiens qui font l’objet de cyberintimidation au moins une fois par semaine risquent davantage de souffrir d’étourdissements et d’anxiété, ainsi que de maux de tête, de ventre et de dos. Malheureusement, ces problèmes peuvent persister à l’âge adulte s’ils ne sont pas traités par un professionnel de la santé mentale. […] D’autres statistiques concernant la cyberintimidation au Canada démontrent que les victimes sont de 1,7 à 7,5 fois plus susceptibles de se sentir seules, nerveuses, tristes, fatiguées et impuissantes et de souffrir d’insomnie. Elles sont également plus à risque de commettre une tentative de suicide. De plus, l’intimidation entraîne chez les personnes qui la subissent un manque d’estime de soi, des difficultés scolaires, des comportements agressifs et de l’isolement social. »

 

Les renseignements disponibles sur la prévalence de la cyberintimidation sont contradictoires. La plupart des statistiques disponibles ont été recueillies il y a près de dix ans et sont donc dépassées compte tenu de l’augmentation, depuis dix ans, du recours aux médias sociaux et aux téléphones intelligents. À des fins de référence, il est toutefois intéressant de mentionner une étude publiée en 2014 par le centre de recherche Pew, qui révèle que le harcèlement en ligne est relativement courant aux États-Unis, 40 % des internautes adultes et 65 % des internautes âgés de 18 à 29 ans ayant subi une forme ou une autre de harcèlement en ligne. Selon les statistiques canadiennes les plus récentes, qui proviennent également d’une enquête réalisée en 2014, un utilisateur d’Internet canadien sur cinq, âgé de 15 à 29 ans, affirme avoir été victime de cyberintimidation ou de cyberharcèlement.

 

Une garantie inédite

 

En 2016, la société Chubb a mis sur le marché une garantie unique en son genre afin de venir en aide aux Canadiens victimes de cyberintimidation. Cette garantie a été ajoutée à la police Protection de la familleMS Chef-d’œuvreMD, offerte aux titulaires de l’assurance habitation Chef-d’œuvreMD de Chubb.

 

« Notre garantie Protection de la familleMS reflète les dangers qui existent dans le monde actuel. L’intimidation existe depuis longtemps, mais avec la cyberintimidation, elle s’est déplacée vers une plateforme qui la rend plus omniprésente et lui permet de s’immiscer davantage dans nos vies », affirme Paul Johnstone, vice-président principal du service des risques des particuliers chez Chubb Canada. La garantie Protection de la famille couvre les coûts engagés par un assuré victime de divers crimes tels que la violation de domicile, l’enlèvement d’enfant, le détournement de voiture, les menaces de harcèlement, la rage au volant, le détournement d’avion et la cyberintimidation.

 

« Notre motivation, lorsque nous avons créé une protection contre la cyberintimidation, n’était pas d’aller chercher de nouvelles primes. Nous nous sommes plutôt demandé de quelle façon il nous serait possible de prendre soin de nos clients. Nous voyons dans cette protection une façon de répondre à un problème émergent, un problème réel, et une occasion pour Chubb de redoubler d’efforts pour aider nos précieux assurés », souligne M. Johnstone. « Un autre aspect positif de la mise en marché d’une telle garantie est le fait qu’elle aura suscité un dialogue constructif et sensibilisé les gens aux souffrances des victimes de cyberintimidation ».

 

Anthea McFarland, vice-présidente directrice de l’assurance des particuliers, chez HUB, reconnaît que la garantie de Chubb a contribué à attirer l’attention sur la question de la cyberintimidation. « Les assureurs tentent toujours de rester au fait de ce qui se passe, et du côté de l’assurance des entreprises on parle beaucoup de cyberprotection. Il est formidable qu’une assurance destinée aux victimes de cyberintimidation soit désormais offerte. Celle-ci a été très bien reçue par nos clients », affirme-t-elle.

 

La garantie de Chubb couvre les frais liés aux actes de cyberintimidation commis contre l’assuré ou contre un membre de sa famille. Elle ne se limite donc pas à l’intimidation subie par une personne mineure. Pour que l’incident soit couvert, il doit donner lieu :

 

• à un choc débilitant, une souffrance morale ou un préjudice psychologique diagnostiqués par un professionnel, ayant pour conséquence d’empêcher l’assuré ou un membre de sa famille de se rendre à l’école ou de travailler à temps plein pendant plus d’une semaine;
• à un congédiement injustifié, à une arrestation illégale, ou à des mesures disciplinaires injustifiées imposées par un établissement d’enseignement.

 

La garantie est mise en jeu par suite d’un « acte de cyberintimidation », que l’on définit de manière assez large comme au moins deux actes de harcèlement ou d’intimidation similaires ou reliés, ce qui comprend la diffamation, l’atteinte à la vie privée et les menaces de violence. L’agression doit être perpétrée par l’intermédiaire d’un ordinateur, d’un téléphone ou d’un appareil portable (par exemple, un téléphone intelligent ou une tablette), ou de tout autre dispositif ou moyen de communication électronique analogue. Fait intéressant, M. Johnstone souligne qu’il n’est pas nécessaire que le harcèlement soit perpétré en public ou qu’il soit largement publicisé.

 

La police couvre les frais associés :

 

• aux soins psychiatriques;
• au temps de repos et de récupération prescrit par un médecin ou un professionnel de la santé mentale autorisé;
• à une perte de salaire liée à un renvoi injustifié;
• au relogement temporaire;
• au recours à des services temporaires de tutorat privé ou à un changement d’école;
• à la consultation de professionnels des relations publiques et de la gestion de la réputation;
• à la consultation de professionnels, notamment dans le domaine de la cybersécurité.

 

Au sujet de l’étendue de la garantie dans des « cas extrêmes », M. Johnstone explique que, par exemple, si un membre de la famille de l’assuré en venait à mettre fin à ses jours par suite d’un acte de cyberintimidation, la police couvrirait les dépenses prévues par la police, engagées par les membres de la famille endeuillée.

 

Des montants maximums sont prévus pour chaque type de dépenses couvertes, à concurrence d’un montant de garantie global de 60 000 $ par acte de cyberintimidation. Pour ce qui est de savoir de quelle manière la société Chubb s’y est prise pour déterminer quels seraient les frais couverts en cas de cyberintimidation, M. Johnstone explique ceci : « Nous discutons toujours beaucoup avec nos clients, nos courtiers et notre équipe du service des sinistres, et nous avions remarqué que l’on nous posait souvent des questions au sujet de ces dépenses. »

 

Il importe de noter que les frais et dépenses judiciaires engagés par un titulaire de police, par exemple, pour intenter une poursuite contre un cyberintimidateur, ne sont pas couverts. M. Johnstone explique que la raison de cette exclusion est simple. « Nous ne couvrons pas les frais judiciaires parce que le but de notre garantie n’est pas de faire respecter la loi. Son objectif est d’aider les gens, de prendre soin des assurés de Chubb, en fournissant une forme de soutien aux familles des victimes de cyberintimidation. »

 

L’appréciation du risque et le coût de la prime

 

Selon M. Johnstone, la question de l’appréciation du risque ne se pose pas, puisque « la garantie Protection de la familleMS n’est pas une police distincte. À partir du moment où le rédacteur production juge qu’il est acceptable d’émettre une police Chef-d’œuvreMD pour un assuré, la garantie Protection de la famille peut y être ajoutée moyennant une prime additionnelle de 110 $. » Le montant relativement peu élevé de la prime témoigne du fait que les risques couverts au titre de la garantie sont peu courants, affirme M. Johnstone, bien qu’ils soient déjà beaucoup trop fréquents.

 

Il convient également de souligner qu’aucune franchise n’est prévue aux termes de la police et que la présentation d’une demande d’indemnité n’influe pas sur le dossier de sinistre de l’assuré.

 

Conclusion

 

À l’instar de la société dans son ensemble, l’industrie de l’assurance a véritablement commencé à s’intéresser aux répercussions de la cyberintimidation. Le débat public à ce sujet se concentre généralement sur l’impact dévastateur de ce type d’agression sur les victimes, et plus particulièrement sur les adolescents. Par opposition, les discussions au sein de l’industrie de l’assurance ont porté essentiellement sur l’incidence éventuelle, pour l’industrie, des réclamations en responsabilité civile liées à des accusations de cyberintimidation. Pour certains assureurs, le fait d’offrir une assurance de la responsabilité civile aux propriétaires occupants afin « d’aider les parents et les tuteurs légaux à intervenir de façon appropriée et efficace lorsqu’un adolescent est accusé de cyberintimidation » constitue une bonne façon de sensibiliser la population au problème de la cyberintimidation.

 

Cependant, au moins un assureur a choisi d’offrir une aide directe aux victimes de cyberintimidation, en créant une garantie couvrant les dépenses liées aux soins psychiatriques, au relogement temporaire, aux études, etc., que ces dernières sont susceptibles d’engager. Pour ce qui est de savoir si d’autres assureurs commenceront à fournir des garanties similaires, M. Johnstone, de Chubb, ne serait pas surpris qu’ils le fassent, parce qu’il estime qu’une telle protection est avantageuse pour les assurés. « Nous ne sommes pas les seuls à avoir le droit de fournir de bonnes garanties et les assureurs ont la responsabilité d’évoluer en fonction des besoins de la société et de nos clients », ajoute-t-il. Il sera en effet intéressant de voir si d’autres assureurs les suivront dans cette voie.

AVANTAGE mensuel

Le présent article fait partie de la bibliothèque en ligne AVANTAGE mensuel, accessible à tous et publiée par la Société des PAA, afin que ses membres, de même que l’industrie de l’assurance de dommages, puissent en bénéficier. Les articles sur des sujets d’actualité présentent une analyse détaillée des tendances observées et des questions à l’ordre du jour, en précisant le contexte qui les entoure ainsi que leur incidence; ils présentent également des commentaires formulés par des spécialistes du domaine dont il est question.

La Société des PAA représente plus de 18 000 diplômés des programmes de Fellow, Professionnel d’assurance agréé (FPAA) et de Professionnel d’assurance agréé (PAA) de l’Institut d’assurance du Canada. En tant que division des professionnels de l’Institut, la Société a pour mission de favoriser la progression de la formation, de l'expérience, du sens éthique et de l’excellence de ses membres. Elle offre un certain nombre de programmes visant à promouvoir les titres professionnels de PAA et de FPAA, le perfectionnement professionnel continu, la déontologie et le mentorat, en plus d’offrir des prix nationaux du leadership et des travaux de recherche sur des sujets d’intérêt qui ont une incidence sur l’industrie canadienne de l’assurance de dommages.