Sign Posts and Stop Signs

Thoughts about the future of the p&c insurance industry

January 2017    |    By Philip H. Cook MBA, FCIP    |   CEO, Omega Insurance Holdings Inc.

We live in a time of incremental change in almost every aspect of our lives. The pace of change is mind boggling and there is no indication that it will slow down any time soon.

This reality requires new thinking on our part, first for the survival of our industry and then to reimagine what it will look like a few years from today and start planning for the new reality.

Long term “operational” planning for most of our companies has traditionally focused on a one to three year horizon, but there are now so many fundamental issues that could disrupt our traditional thinking we need to step back and create a vision of what our industry will look like in 5 to 10 years, and how our organizations will remain relevant.

This trends paper will deal with some of the key issues that will shape the future of our industry, or if not addressed, may in some cases prove to be a catalyst for the demise of some organizations. Some of these issues will represent “sign posts” pointing us toward a solution, while others may be “stop signs” which we ignore at our peril.

In this 150th anniversary year for Canada, we would do well to recognize that the insurance industry was alive and well for at least 150 years before confederation. In such a mature and, in large part successful, industry there can be some complacency, but there are also significant opportunities available.

Customer expectations

Personal relationships have been the bedrock of our industry since its inception. Insurers need policyholders, brokers need clients, reinsurers need cedants, adjusters need claims to adjudicate, and the list goes on. However, it is in this area of relationships that we may be most at risk in the future, not because we have handled things particularly badly, but because consumer expectations of how they want to be dealt with have undergone a paradigm shift.

Competing for customers has traditionally been a very granular exercise, where companies have tried to differentiate themselves from their own peer group on the basis of price, service, special products etc. This has worked reasonably well in the past but with each new generation of consumers it is becoming more obvious that real competitive edge comes from how companies interact with consumers rather than just what is on offer.

The medium really has become the message, and for most of our younger consumers (and probably all of the next generation of consumers) our industry will be viewed through the lens of how they obtain other non-insurance products and services. It is no longer enough for us to design products and services to address consumer needs and wants, rather we need to create (or embrace) delivery systems that meet their expectations.

The fastest growing segment of our industry (and incidentally the one generating the most amount of investor interest) is InsurTech, which saw more than 150 new start-ups in 2016 with significant amounts of new investment support.

Our industry has been quite innovative in terms of delivering new products through traditional distribution channels, or traditional products through new distribution channels. However, we need to turn our attention to the prospect of delivering new product through new distribution channels.

Most of the InsurTech activity to date has concentrated on design and testing, but I believe our industry is facing the beginning of an unprecedented period of intense change where we will either become our own disruptors, or face the very real risk of becoming the victim of disruptors from outside the industry.

Most other industries have already felt the impact of disruptors, and companies within those industries have been forced to modify or completely change the way they do business in order to survive and prosper. The ones that chose to view change as a temporary trend are no longer around to tell their story.

In 2012 Encyclopedia Britannica announced that it would no longer publish its print edition, having been in the same business for 245 years. The final edition consisted of 32 volumes (30 devoted to information and 2 containing the index and cross reference material). It was said to have been the most comprehensive publication of its type in history, accurate to the 99th percentile, printed immaculately, containing the most stunning photography, and by far the most appealing and skilfully bound edition ever produced.

A perfect product that no one wanted, except for a few a few bibliophiles and rare book dealers. Why? – Because the same product content was available faster, cheaper and potentially more current, at the click of a keystroke. The lesson here is that however good our products may be, and however well they may address the needs and wants of the consumer, if they are not delivered through a modern medium they will probably be considered inferior.

Reputation and relevancy

Added to the personal relationship challenges faced by our industry, is the current global movement against status quo, big government, and big business. While this trend might be considered to be quite fickle, it is probably going to be around for the next several years and is a reality we must contend with. The growth in Peer-to-Peer insurance alternatives is a good example of this shift away from traditional methods of product design and distribution. Placing coverage online, at any time of the day or night directly and instantaneously, and having claims adjudicated in real-time is extremely compelling to consumers who are increasingly choosing that type of electronic medium for their other non-insurance purchases.

Interestingly, the concept of Peer-to Peer insurance exchanges with claims being adjudicated by other members is not a new one, having been the basis of most Mutual Companies or Reciprocals, and utilizes the sharing concept inherent in our industry’s origin. It is just packaged differently and has the look and feel of a new concept.  

In a similar vein, affinity group sales and member only buying groups are a growing part of the retail world, giving people of like mind, circumstances, or backgrounds, the comfort of knowing they part of a special group experience, and that others have already accepted the value proposition offered by the seller.

Whether we like it or not, our industry is not high on the likeability scale, although many companies are doing interesting things to overcome this bias. We will need to improve in this area not only to retain customers, but to build political capital to withstand what is likely to be increased consumer pressure on governments to control both our behaviour and pricing. Demonstrating fairness in our customer claims relationships will be an essential ingredient, and finding ways to communicate the unique services we provide following catastrophic events will all serve to enhance our general reputation.

Governments continue to be the largest insurers in almost all countries, picking up most of the uninsured cost of natural and man-made disasters. During 2016 it is estimated that the damage caused around the world by natural catastrophic events was approximately $160 billion, of which only about 30% was insured by our industry.

For us to remain relevant in the future we need to be seen as providing protection for a larger share of these Nat/Cat losses. At only 30% we run the risk of not only being marginalized by our clients, but being seen as less than relevant by our politicians and government officials. Independent adjusters have been used effectively by governments to distribute emergency funds and assist with quantification of both insured and uninsured damage, but we also need to become more directly engaged in providing actual coverage for these exposures.

Thinking outside the box

Underwriting results, customer retention, maintaining access to capital, managing change, harnessing social media, corporate governance, hiring and developing good staff, regulatory compliance, and creating a culture of innovation, are just a few of the issues our companies will need to manage effectively over the next few years if they are to remain viable.

This is going to require a wide range of skills, some of which can be developed organically from within our current companies, but some will need to be imported from other organizations or disciplines.

Add to that the significant changes that are about to impact our industry from the advent of driverless cars, more disruptors from outside the industry, new forms of consolidation at the insurer, reinsurer and intermediary level, increased cyber exposure, continued climate change and a period of prolonged economic uncertainty, and the future might seem quite daunting.

However, as has always been the case historically for our industry, people will emerge to navigate through the problems, creating solutions, products and delivery systems that have the potential to keep the industry vibrant and relevant.

The real issue is whether it is possible to think outside the box, if you are part of the box. It can be done, but it may require some additional assistance from outside the box. One thing is certain, if the scope of our vision is limited to thinking inside the box, there is not much hope for a bright future.

Information and data

Good decision-making in any area requires access to reliable information and dependable data. Over the last 25 to 30 year period, we have gone from having insufficient data on which to make informed decisions, to perhaps having so much data and access to information that it is difficult to isolate the key information we need to reach a conclusion.

People with the ability to sift through information and select what is most important will be at a premium in the future, and a valuable asset within any organization.

Add to this the recent increase in false news and other forms of unsupported information, and the need for people who can differentiate between good and bad data is intensified.

Finally, we should guard against thinking that tweets, retweets, “likes” and other forms of mass messaging are actually trend indicators. They might represent trends, but they are just as likely to represent inherent bias on behalf of the participants.

There is no substitute for good research and intelligent valuation of available data, statistics and modeling as our industry moves forward and continues to meet or exceed customer expectations.

Panneaux indicateurs et panneaux d’arrêt

Réflexions sur l’avenir de l’assurance de dommages

Janvier 2017    |    Par Philip H. Cook, MBA, FCIP  |  Chef de la direction, Omega Insurance Holdings Inc.

Nous vivons à une époque de changements successifs dans presque tous les aspects de notre vie. Le rythme de ces changements est effarant et rien ne semble indiquer qu’il ralentira dans un avenir prochain.

Cette réalité exige une nouvelle réflexion de notre part, d’abord pour assurer la survie de notre industrie et ensuite pour imaginer à quoi elle ressemblera dans quelques années, afin de pouvoir planifier en vue de cette nouvelle réalité.

Dans la plupart des entreprises du domaine de l’assurance, la planification opérationnelle à long terme portait traditionnellement sur un horizon temporel d’un à trois ans, mais il y a maintenant tellement de questions fondamentales qui pourraient perturber nos modes de pensée traditionnels qu’il nous faut prendre du recul, essayer d’imaginer à quoi notre industrie ressemblera dans cinq à dix ans et réfléchir aux mesures que nos organisations devront prendre pour rester pertinentes.

Le présent article traite de certaines des grandes questions qui façonneront l’avenir de notre industrie et qu’il nous faudra aborder, sans quoi elles pourraient être un catalyseur de la disparition de certaines organisations. Certaines de ces questions représenteront des « panneaux indicateurs » qui nous dirigeront vers une solution, tandis que d’autres pourront être des « panneaux d’arrêt » que nous ne pourrons ignorer sans nous mettre en péril.

En ce 150e anniversaire du Canada, il serait bon de reconnaître que l’industrie de l’assurance s’est très bien portée pendant au moins 150 ans avant la Confédération. Une industrie en pleine maturité et généralement florissante peut donner lieu à une certaine complaisance, mais elle offre aussi des occasions importantes.

Les attentes des clients

Les « relations personnelles » ont été le fondement de notre industrie depuis le début. Les assureurs ont besoin de titulaires de contrat, les courtiers ont besoin de clients, les réassureurs ont besoin de cédants, les régleurs ont besoin de demandes de règlement à traiter, et la liste ne s’arrête pas là. Toutefois, c’est dans le domaine des relations que nous pourrions être le plus à risque à l’avenir, non pas à cause d’une gestion particulièrement mauvaise des choses, mais parce que les attentes des consommateurs quant à la façon d’être traités ont fondamentalement changé.

La concurrence que les sociétés se sont livrée par le passé pour l’obtention des clients a généralement été un exercice très granulaire  dans lequel celles-ci tentaient de se démarquer de leur groupe de pairs au moyen notamment des prix, du service et de produits particuliers. Cela fonctionnait passablement bien auparavant, mais avec chaque nouvelle génération de consommateurs, il devient évident que le véritable avantage concurrentiel d’une société tiendra plus à sa façon d’interagir avec les consommateurs qu’aux produits et services qu’elle offrira.

Le média est vraiment devenu le message et la plupart des consommateurs plus jeunes (et probablement toute la prochaine génération de consommateurs) évalueront notre industrie selon le même critère que celui qu’ils utilisent pour les produits et services autres que l’assurance. Il ne suffit plus de concevoir des produits et des services pour répondre aux besoins et aux désirs des clients, mais il nous faut créer (ou adopter) des systèmes de distribution répondant à leurs attentes.

Le segment de notre industrie qui croît le plus rapidement (et qui, par ailleurs, suscite le plus d’intérêt auprès des investisseurs) est celui des technologies de l’assurance, dans lequel 150 nouvelles entreprises ont vu le jour en 2016 et des sommes considérables ont été investies.

Notre industrie a démontré son esprit très innovateur en se servant des canaux traditionnels pour distribuer de nouveaux produits ou de nouveaux canaux pour distribuer des produits traditionnels. Toutefois, nous devons maintenant porter notre attention sur la distribution de nouveaux produits par l’entremise de nouveaux canaux.

Les sociétés de technologies de l’assurance ont à ce jour concentré leurs activités sur la conception et les essais, mais nous croyons que les entreprises de notre industrie entrent dans une période sans précédent de changements intenses où elles pourront être leurs propres entreprises perturbatrices, ou être confrontées au risque bien réel de devenir les victimes d’entreprises perturbatrices provenant de l’extérieur de notre industrie.

Les entreprises de la plupart des industries ont déjà ressenti les effets des sociétés perturbatrices et les sociétés actives qui y œuvrent ont été forcées de modifier ou de changer complètement leur façon de faire des affaires afin de pouvoir survivre et prospérer. Celles qui ont choisi de considérer le « changement » comme une tendance temporaire ne sont plus là pour raconter leur histoire.

En 2013, l’Encyclopedia Britannica produisait sa dernière édition imprimée après avoir été présente dans ce secteur pendant 245 ans. L’édition finale comportait 32 volumes (dont 30 consacrés à l’information et les deux derniers correspondant à l’index et à du matériel de référence croisée). C’était, dit-on, la publication la plus complète de ce genre dans toute l’histoire, avec une exactitude au 99e percentile. Cette publication, qui se démarquait par son impression impeccable et sa reliure professionnelle des plus soignées, renfermait les photographies les plus extraordinaires jamais produites.

Un  « produit parfait » qui n’intéressait plus personne, à part quelques bibliophiles et de rares libraires. Pourquoi? – Parce qu’il était possible d’obtenir plus rapidement et à moindre coût le même contenu ou un contenu encore plus à jour, d’un simple clic de souris. La leçon qu’il faut en tirer est celle-ci : peu importe la qualité de nos produits et leur capacité à répondre parfaitement bien aux besoins et désirs du client, s’ils ne sont pas distribués par l’entremise d’un média moderne, ils seront probablement jugés comme inférieurs.

Réputation et pertinence

En plus du défi des relations personnelles auquel notre industrie est confrontée, il y a actuellement le mouvement mondial contre le « statu quo », les « grosses machines gouvernementales » et les « grandes entreprises ». Bien que cette tendance puisse être considérée comme très inconstante, elle va probablement se maintenir pendant plusieurs années et il nous faudra donc composer avec elle. La progression des solutions d’assurance entre pairs est un bon exemple de cette désaffection à l’égard des méthodes traditionnelles de conception et de distribution des produits. La souscription d’assurance en ligne, à n’importe quelle heure du jour ou de la nuit, directement et instantanément, et l’évaluation des demandes de règlement en temps réel sont des avantages extrêmement intéressants pour les consommateurs qui choisissent de plus en plus ce type de média électronique pour acheter des produits autres que d’assurance.

Il est intéressant de noter que le concept d’échange d’assurance entre pairs avec évaluation des demandes de règlement effectuée par d’autres membres n’est pas nouveau puisqu’il a été le fondement de la plupart des mutuelles d’assurance ou des assureurs réciproques et qu’il fait appel au concept de partage inhérent aux origines de notre industrie. Seul l’emballage est différent, ce qui donne l’impression d’un nouveau concept.  

Dans la même optique, les groupes d’affinités et les groupes d’achat « pour membres seulement » représentent une part de plus en plus importante du monde de la vente au détail. Ces groupes donnent aux gens qui ont un mode de pensée, une situation ou des antécédents similaires la satisfaction de savoir qu’ils prennent part à une expérience « de groupe » particulière, et que les autres ont déjà accepté la proposition de valeur offerte par le vendeur.

Que cela nous plaise ou non, notre industrie n’obtient pas un très fort capital de sympathie, bien que beaucoup de sociétés prennent des mesures intéressantes pour remédier à cette situation. Nous devrons nous améliorer à ce chapitre non seulement pour conserver notre clientèle, mais aussi pour nous bâtir du « capital politique » afin de résister aux pressions accrues qu’exercent les consommateurs sur les gouvernements pour régir nos comportements et nos prix. Afin de rehausser la réputation de l’ensemble de l’industrie, nous devrons absolument faire preuve d’équité à l’égard des demandes de règlement présentées par nos clients, et trouver de nouveaux moyens de communiquer au grand public les services uniques que nous fournissons après des événements catastrophiques.

Dans presque tous les pays, les gouvernements demeurent les « assureurs » les plus importants, assumant la plupart des coûts non assurés des catastrophes naturelles ou de celles dues à l'action humaine. Au cours de 2016, les dommages causés dans le monde par les catastrophes naturelles ont été estimés à 160 milliards de dollars, dont seulement 30 % étaient couverts par notre industrie.

Afin de conserver notre raison d’être à l’avenir, nous devrons être perçus comme des fournisseurs de protections à l’égard d’une proportion plus importante de ces sinistres naturels ou catastrophiques. À un niveau de 30 %,  nous courons le risque non seulement  d’être marginalisés par nos clients, mais également d’être considérés comme moins que pertinents par nos politiciens et les représentants du gouvernement. Les régleurs indépendants ont été utilisés efficacement par les gouvernements pour distribuer des fonds d’urgence et aider à la quantification des dommages assurés et non assurés, mais nous devons aussi nous engager plus directement à offrir une protection réelle à l’égard de ces risques.

Sortir du cadre traditionnel

Les résultats techniques, la fidélisation de la clientèle, le maintien de l’accès au capital, la gestion du changement, la mise à profit des médias sociaux, la gouvernance d’entreprise, l’embauche et le perfectionnement de personnel compétent, la conformité réglementaire et la création d’une culture de l’innovation ne sont que quelques-uns des éléments que nos sociétés devront gérer efficacement au cours des prochaines années si elles veulent rester viables.

Cela exigera un vaste éventail de compétences dont certaines pourront être développées à l’interne, tandis que d’autres devront être « importées » d’autres organisations ou d’autres disciplines.

Si l’on ajoute à cela les changements qui auront prochainement des répercussions sur notre industrie, comme l’avènement des automobiles sans conducteur, le nombre accru d’entreprises perturbatrices provenant de l’extérieur de notre industrie, les nouvelles formes de regroupement au niveau des assureurs, des réassureurs et des intermédiaires, l’augmentation des cyberrisques, la poursuite des changements climatiques et une période d’incertitude économique prolongée, l’avenir peut sembler plutôt incertain.

Toutefois, comme cela a toujours été le cas dans notre industrie, des gens se lèveront pour faire face aux problèmes et élaborer des solutions, des produits et des systèmes de distribution qui permettront à l’industrie de rester bien vivante et pertinente.

La véritable question est de savoir s’il est possible de sortir du cadre traditionnel, quand vous en faites partie intégrante. C’est possible, mais cela peut exiger de l’aide de gens qui sont déjà sortis des sentiers battus. Une chose est certaine, si notre champ de vision se limite au cadre traditionnel, cela laisse peu d’espoir d’un avenir brillant.

Renseignements et données

Dans tous les secteurs, la prise de décisions judicieuses exige d’avoir accès à des renseignements et des données fiables. Au cours des 25 à 30 dernières années, nous sommes passés d’une insuffisance de données qui auraient permis de prendre des décisions éclairées à, peut-être, une surabondance de données et à un trop grand accès à de l’information qui font en sorte qu’il est difficile d’isoler les renseignements essentiels dont nous avons besoin pour en arriver à une conclusion.

À l’avenir, les gens capables de filtrer ces renseignements et de choisir les plus importants seront très recherchés et constitueront un actif très précieux dans toute organisation.

Il ne faut pas oublier non plus l’augmentation récente de « fausses nouvelles » et des autres formes de renseignements non vérifiés, ainsi que le besoin accru de trouver des personnes qui peuvent différencier les données exactes des données erronées.

Finalement, nous devrions éviter de considérer les gazouillis, gazouillis partagés, mentions « J’aime » et autres formes de diffusion massive comme de véritables indicateurs de tendance. Ils pourraient représenter des tendances, mais ils pourraient tout aussi bien représenter les préjugés inhérents de leurs auteurs.

Rien ne peut remplacer une bonne recherche et une évaluation intelligente des données, des statistiques et des modèles disponibles tandis que notre industrie va de l’avant et continue de répondre aux attentes ou de les dépasser.