FCIP Candidate Responsibilities

All candidates in the Insurance Institute’s FCIP Program are expected to abide by the rules and regulations set forth in the FCIP Program Policies and in the Insurance Institute’s Code of Ethics. It is your responsibility to familiarize yourself with these rules, regulations and principles.

Standards of Academic Integrity

During the course of your studies, you must adhere to the standards of academic integrity outlined in the following subsections. Failure to do so may result in academic suspension or other disciplinary action.

Code of Ethics

As a candidate in the FCIP Program, you are bound by the Insurance Institute’s Code of Ethics to practise principles of honesty and integrity. You are also subject to penalties under the Code of Ethics for any breaches, in addition to academic penalties.

Confidentiality

As you progress through the FCIP program, you will be in regular contact with other insurance professionals.Candidates will use real-world examples in their course work and online discussions that could include details of the day-today operations of their employers. All such information must be kept strictly confidential. At the same time, you should respect the confidentiality of your own organization’s information and refrain from sharing anything you are not authorized to reveal.

Copyright

Except where otherwise indicated, FCIP course materials are copyright of The Insurance Institute of Canada. You may not disclose, reproduce, publish or transmit any part of the online or hard-copy course materials, in any form, by any means or for any purpose, without the express written permission of The Insurance Institute of Canada. Any violation of the above may result in disciplinary and/or legal action by the Insurance Institute.

You are also expected to similarly respect the copyright of other authors and publishers whose writing you read (whether in print or online) during your course.

Plagiarism

Plagiarism occurs when one person uses the words or ideas of another person without giving proper credit to the source. When referencing an outside source or idea or using someone else’s words, you must include a citation to show the reader where the information can be found.

To avoid plagiarism, you must properly cite all information and concepts obtained from other sources (whether spoken or written, and whether published or unpublished). Referencing the ideas of others to support a point is acceptable if the source of the information is properly cited.

Duplicate Submissions

Submitting the same piece of your own work for evaluation on more than one occasion is not permitted. You are expected to submit new work for each course in the program.

Online Discussions

Candidates in FCIP courses are encouraged to discuss course content in online discussion boards. You are expected to adhere to the following guidelines when posting in the FCIP discussion forums:

• You are expected to respect the principles of confidentiality and copyright and to avoid plagiarism in your postings.
• You are expected to treat other participants with courtesy and respect at all times.
• Posts that respectfully praise or criticize an idea are acceptable if they add to the discussion at hand
• Personal attacks and inflammatory behaviour are not tolerated.
• Use of foul language and/or obscene images is not tolerated.
• The FCIP course websites are to be used for academic purposes only.
• Public forum posts should be reserved for matters of interest to the general course community. Private discussions should be taken off-line.
• Threads or posts perceived to have been made with the intent of promoting a commercial endeavour will be deleted.
• Posting the same message repeatedly or posting an unsolicited commercial message, either to one or multiple topics or boards, is considered spam. Duplicate messages may be deleted or consolidated by Institute representatives, and posting privileges may be revoked.
• Responses to a particular thread should pertain to the discussion at hand. Posts on a new topic should be started in a new thread
• Any messages posted in a discussion forum will remain available to other class participants for as long as that particular discussion board is accessible online. Please post carefully and with due consideration to the content of the post. 

Violations and Penalties

Suspected violations of any of the above principles of academic integrity and candidate conduct should be brought to the attention of The Insurance Institute of Canada.

Suspected violations will be examined on a case-by-case basis. Anyone found to have violated one or more provisions will be subject to disciplinary action, which may include a grade penalty, course failure, academic suspension, or other disciplinary action.

See also:
• FCIP Program policies
• The requirements for admission to the FCIP Program
• The prerequisites for individual FCIP courses

Les responsabilités des candidats

L’Institut d’assurance exige que tous les candidats se conforment aux règlements énoncés dans les politiques du programme de FPAA et dans le Code de déontologie de l’Institut. Il vous incombe de vous familiariser avec ces règlements et principes.

Normes en matière de probité intellectuelle

Pendant vos études, vous devez vous conformer aux normes en matière de probité intellectuelle énoncées dans les sous-sections qui suivent, à défaut de quoi vous vous exposez à une suspension du programme ou à d’autres mesures disciplinaires.

Code de déontologie

En tant que candidat participant au programme de FPAA, vous vous engagez, en vertu du Code de déontologie de l’Institut d’assurance, à mettre en pratique les principes d’honnêteté et d’intégrité. En cas de manquement, vous vous exposez aux pénalités prévues dans le Code de déontologie, en plus des autres pénalités scolaires.

Confidentialité

Au cours du programme de FPAA, vous serez régulièrement en contact avec d’autres professionnels de l’assurance. Dans leurs travaux et leurs discussions en ligne, les candidats se serviront d’exemples réels qui pourraient contenir des détails sur les activités quotidiennes de leur entreprise. Tous les renseignements de ce genre doivent demeurer strictement confidentiels. Vous devez également respecter la confidentialité des renseignements professionnels de votre entreprise et vous abstenir de partager des renseignements que vous n’êtes pas autorisé à divulguer.

Droit d’auteur

Le matériel pédagogique des cours du programme de FPAA est la propriété de l’Institut d’assurance du Canada et, à moins d’indication contraire, ce matériel est protégé par le droit d’auteur. Toute divulgation, reproduction, publication ou transmission de quelque partie que ce soit du matériel pédagogique en ligne ou imprimé, par quelque moyen que ce soit et pour quelque usage que ce soit, est interdite sans l’autorisation écrite expresse de l’Institut d’assurance du Canada. Toute infraction à cet égard est passible de mesures disciplinaires ou de poursuites en justice, de la part de l’Institut d’assurance.

Vous devez également respecter le droit d’auteur des autres auteurs et éditeurs dont vous consultez les ouvrages (imprimés ou en ligne) dans le cadre de votre cours.

Plagiat

Il y a plagiat lorsqu’une personne reprend les mots ou les idées de quelqu’un d’autre en omettant d’en indiquer la source. Si vous avez recours à une source ou à une idée de l’extérieur, ou si vous rapportez les paroles de quelqu’un, vous devez indiquer qu’il s’agit d’une citation et préciser au lecteur où il peut trouver le contenu original.

Pour éviter le plagiat, veillez à ce que tout contenu et toute idée que vous obtenez par le biais d’une autre source (orale ou écrite, publiée ou non) soient dûment cités. Les références aux idées d’autrui dans le but d’appuyer une affirmation sont tout à fait acceptables, à condition que la source de ces idées soit clairement indiquée.

Réutilisation d’un travail

Il est interdit d’utiliser une seconde fois, aux fins de l’évaluation, un travail que vous avez déjà présenté dans le cadre d’autres cours. Vous devez présenter de nouveaux travaux pour chacun des cours du programme.

Directives visant les discussions en ligne

Les candidats qui suivent le cours de FPAA sont invités à discuter du contenu des cours dans le cadre de groupes de discussion en ligne. Tous les candidats sont tenus de se conformer aux directives suivantes lorsqu’il contribuent aux forums de discussion des cours de FPAA :

• Lorsque vous faites des contributions en ligne, vous devez respecter le principe de la confidentialité et le droit d’auteur, et éviter tout plagiat
• Vous devez en tout temps faire preuve de courtoisie et de respect envers les autres participants.
• Les commentaires qui font respectueusement l’éloge ou la critique d’une idée doivent faire évoluer la discussion en cours.
• Les attaques personnelles et les propos incendiaires ne seront pas tolérés.
• Le recours à un langage grossier ou à des images obscènes ne sera pas toléré.
• Les sites Web des cours du programme de FPAA doivent servir uniquement à des fins pédagogiques. 
• Les contributions à un forum de discussion doivent porter exclusivement sur des sujets d’intérêt pour l’ensemble des candidats qui suivent le cours. Les discussions privées doivent avoir lieu en dehors du forum.
• Les fils de discussion ou les articles qui seront perçus comme ayant pour but de promouvoir toute forme d’entreprise commerciale seront supprimés.
• Le fait de publier le même message de façon répétée ou un message publicitaire non sollicité, par l’entremise d’un ou de plusieurs fils ou forums de discussion, correspond à ce que l’on appelle le pollupostage. Les messages répétés sont susceptibles d’être supprimés ou consolidés par l’Institut et peuvent donner lieu à la suppression des privilèges de participation aux forums.
• Les messages publiés dans un fil de discussion donné doivent avoir un lien avec la discussion en cours. Les articles portant sur un sujet autre devraient faire l’objet d’un nouveau fil de discussion.
• Tout message publié dans un forum de discussion demeurera accessible aux participants aussi longtemps que la discussion en question restera en ligne. Nous vous prions de faire preuve de discernement lorsque vous publiez un article et d’apporter l’attention voulue au contenu de votre article.

Infractions et pénalités

Tout soupçon d’infraction à l’un ou l’autre des principes mentionnés précédemment relativement à la probité intellectuelle et à la conduite des candidats devrait être porté à l’attention de l’Institut d’assurance du Canada.

Les infractions soupçonnées seront examinées cas par cas. Toute personne trouvée coupable d’avoir enfreint un ou plusieurs règlements s’expose à des mesures disciplinaires, notamment une réduction de sa note, une mention d’échec au cours ou une suspension du programme.

Voyez également :
• les politiques du programme de FPAA 
• les exigences relatives à l’admission au programme de FPAA
• les préalables des cours du programme de FPAA