Virtually Proctored Computer-based Examinations

How Virtual Proctoring Works

Virtual proctoring works by a live virtual proctor observing you taking your exam through your webcam. They will also help you troubleshoot any technical issues if necessary. Your entire session will be recorded, and any unusual behaviour will be flagged. You are expected to abide by all the examination rules and regulations during the examination.

Before your exam day, you will have the opportunity to test your computer to ensure it meets the necessary specifications. You will need to install some software and ensure you have the appropriate browser. Some work or personal laptops, such as Chromebooks, do not allow the installation of software so it is highly recommended that you have a machine that allows you to download software to avoid any surprises on exam day.

On the day of the exam, you will need to go through a series of steps to set up your computer for virtual proctoring. You will be required to download and install proctoring system applications and to grant the proctor access to your webcam and microphone.

The Insurance Institute of Canada has an agreement with the third-party proctoring service provider regarding protecting the privacy of the recordings, and other personal information.

Watch the Virtual Proctoring set up process


 

1. Log in to IIC Exam portal 10 minutes before your scheduled appointment and click “Launch” when the countdown timer reaches 0:00:00. You will require the following to access the exam:
- IIC member ID and Password
- Name of the exam you are writing

2. Pre-checks: If you don’t already have the ProctorU extension, you’ll be prompted to download it. You’ll be required to accept exam guidelines and terms of service. The browser will prompt you to share your screen, a required part of being proctored online. You’ll be automatically guided through a series of equipment checks to make sure your system meets minimum requirements.

3. Photos & Authentication: You’ll take a photo of yourself as well as your government authorized photo I.D. (i.e. Passport, Driver’s license) for identity verification purposes.

4. Chatbox download: You will be prompted to download and run a LogMeIn Rescue applet file that will bring up a chat box allowing you to text with your proctor. If prompted, be sure to click “open” or “allow” to give the file permission to run. When the chat box says “waiting,” it means that you are in the queue waiting for your proctor. TIP: If your status shows “waiting,” do not re-download the applet file as that will put you back at the end of the queue.

5. Proctor Connection & Confirmations: Your proctor will greet you and confirm that you passed your identity verification steps. You’ll review the exam rules with your proctor and they’ll ask to see any permitted resources that you are allowed you to use during your exam.

6. Remote System Check: Your proctor will ask to take remote control of your mouse and keyboard via the LogMeIn Rescue applet in order to make sure no unpermitted programs are running. You will be able to see everything that your proctor is doing during this step, and it is impossible for them to access any files without your knowledge.

7. Camera Pan: Your proctor will ask you to show the four walls of your room as well as your desk space via your webcam. You may or may not also be asked to show your computer monitor. Your proctor will make sure your cell phone is out of reach.

8. Take Your Exam: Your proctor will release control of your computer and you’ll begin your exam when you’re ready.
NOTE: Your webcam view and your screen will be recorded through the duration of your exam.

Steps to take when you’ve completed your exam:

1. Alert the proctor when finished BEFORE submitting: Prior to submitting your exam, let your proctor know through the chat box that you’re finished. They will oversee the submission process.

2. Log out of your exam site and browser: Your proctor must observe you log out of the exam website and close out of all browser tabs.

3. Close out of ProctorU chat box: This will end your session with ProctorU. Once the chat box closes, you’ll be invited to complete a customer satisfaction survey.

4. You’re done! Enjoy your day!

Schedule Exam Date and Time

You should schedule your virtually proctored exam immediately after registration. Exam sittings start at various times during the day, 7 days a week, subject to proctor availability. The booking time is a 24-hour clock, so ensure you select the correct time you intend to write at. For instance, if you want to write at 2 pm, select 1400 hrs. Seats are booked on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Once you receive your booking e-mail, click here to schedule your exam.

Select the exam you want to book. Select Remote Proctoring and book a date and time that works for you. Once you’ve booked your exam, you will receive an “Exam Booking Confirmation” email. Make sure to save this email.

How to book your virtually proctored exam


System Requirements

To write the exam in a virtually proctored environment, you will need:

Personal laptop or computer with an ability to download software (no mobile devices, Chromebooks or tablets)

Microphone and camera (headset mics are not permitted)

An internet connection with at least 1Mbps upload & 1.5Mbps download speed. Test your speed here

Use the best internet connection possible. A connection failure or interruption can interfere with or even end your exam session. Take these steps to avoid disconnection:

  • Use a wired internet connection rather than WiFi, if possible.
  • If using WiFi, ask that other household members do not use the internet during your exam.
  • Disconnect any VPNs if you have them; ProctorU virtual proctoring service does not work with VPN connections.

Verify that you can:

Access the exam portal.

Test Your Equipment - login and find the test link at the bottom of the page. Make sure your camera and microphone are set to the camera and microphone you plan to use for the session. Note, that you cannot use a headset during the exam. We encourage you to test your system well in advance of your exam and again approximately 4-hours before your scheduled exam time.

Install applications on your system. The ProctorU browser extension should have been installed during the system test. On exam day, you will be required to install a small application to complete the connection to your proctor.

Watch the video for help on testing your equipment for virtual proctoring using Chrome:

 

How to test your equipment for virtual proctoring using FireFox:

 

IMPORTANT: If you do not have a personal computer or a laptop and cannot obtain one, you may be eligible to write an Online Timed exam. Please click here for more information.

Do's and Don'ts

Exam Do's

bedroom clutterSit in a room free from noise, disruptions & clutter (including the wall space).
Laptop on deskKeep your laptop on a clutter-free desk.
well lit roomSit in a well lit indoor room.
Monitor displayOnly use one monitor display.

Exam Don'ts

women on a bedDon’t sit on a bed.
woman drinking beverageDon’t eat or drink during exam.
People wearing hats and headphonesDon’t wear headphones or hats.
People with babies and petsDo not sit in a room with a third party during exam, including children & pets.

Important information

When you click the Launch Exam button, you are not yet starting your exam, you are starting the onboarding process for the proctoring service. On average it takes 5 to 15 minutes to connect to a proctor, but it may take as much as 45 minutes during busy times. Please be patient and do not refresh your screen.
  •  Perform a system test approximate 4-hours before your scheduled exam time.
  •  Give yourself a minimum of four hours from start to finish as it may take some time to set-up and connect to a proctor.
  •  Shut down all programs and restart your computer before you launch your exam and start the onboarding process.
  •  Connect to the internet via a wired connection (i.e. Ethernet connection), if possible. Wi-fi connections generally carry a higher risk of disruption.


Download the Exam Do's and Don'ts

 

Using a Work Computer

We recommend you use a personal computer to take the exam. If you must use a work computer, below are some additional configuration recommendations to reduce the risk of technical issues. You may also need to contact your organization’s IT support representative in advance of your exam day to make some of these changes.

• Disable any applicable browser or internet firewall settings.

• Make sure that you are not connected to a Virtual Private Network (VPN) and that desktop sharing or remote desktop applications are closed and disabled.

• Ensure that you are not using a web browser with proprietary security settings established by your company.

• Disable notifications (emails, meeting requests, etc.) on your email account before initiating the check-in process.

• Disable any applicable software designed to record or monitor your screen.

• Disable any content filters that may interfere with the launch of the exam.

• Ensure that you have the appropriate user rights on your computer that are needed to download and install applications

Support

Once you’ve started your exam setup process, you will have access to ProctorU’s live technicians. The live technicians should be your first point of contact if technical issues occur. To access ProctorU’s technicians, click on the owl icon at the top right of your screen and click ‘help’. You will be directed to fill out an online form and will be connected to a technician. Please be patient as this can take several minutes. Don’t worry about the wait, your exam will not start until you complete the setup steps and start the exam yourself.

Screengrab of assistance page

If you lose internet connection during the connection process and your session time expires, please contact IIC Member Services. We will try to reschedule your exam in the current session

If you have technical issues or are unable to complete the setup process, contact Member Services and we will reschedule you.

Member Services: 1-866-362-8585 or iicmail@insuranceinstitute.ca

Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. EST

 

 

OTL Agent & Level 1 Agent/broker Licensing exams


Registering for a Licensing Exam

2021 Licensing Exams Schedule

Licensing exams may be scheduled on any of the following dates. Start times are available at various times, 24 hours/day. Click here for the RIBO exams schedule.

January 11 - 29
February 8 - 26
March 8 - 26
April 1 - 16
May 3 - 21
June 7 - 25
July 5 – 16

Licensing Exam Policies

Licensing Exam Policies

Candidates are expected to abide by all OTL Agent/Level 1 Examination Rules and Regulations.

The following additional policies apply to virtually proctored licensing exams. (Click here to view RIBO exam policies.)

Rescheduling an exam
Candidates may reschedule an exam up to 24 hours prior to the exam start time at no charge. Log in to the Institute's exam portal and select Reschedule.
If less than 24 hours' notice is provided, contact your local Institute to arrange for a new registration. The original proctor fee is not refundable.

Cancellation
To cancel a scheduled exam, contact your local institute at least 24 hours prior to the exam start time. The proctor fee is non-refundable if less than 24 hours' notice is provided. Other fees may also apply – contact your local institute for more information.

Absence
A candidate will be marked absent if they fail to log in to their exam at the scheduled start time. Contact your local Institute to arrange for a new registration. The original proctor fee is not refundable.

Accommodation requests
Limited accommodations may be provided in the online format. Contact your local Institute to obtain an Accommodation Request form. Submit the form no later than two weeks prior to your scheduled exam date. Your request and documentation will be evaluated, and you will be notified by email if approved.

System requirements
It is the candidate's responsibility to ensure that they can meet the system requirements necessary to write the exam. If an exam cannot be completed due to a technical issue related to the candidate's system, the proctor fee is non-refundable. Contact your local Institute immediately for instructions.

Failure to book exam
Exams must be written within the dates specified in the registration. If a candidate fails to book by the last day of the registration period, the exam fee is non-refundable. Exceptions may be considered on a case-by-case basis. Contact your local Institute for more information.

Resources

Examens informatisés surveillés virtuellement

Fonctionnement de la surveillance en ligne

La surveillance en ligne consiste à ce qu’un surveillant ou une surveillante d’examen vous observe à distance, depuis la webcaméra, pendant l’examen. La personne qui vous surveille peut aussi vous aider à résoudre les problèmes techniques que vous pourriez éprouver. L’intégralité de la séance d’examen sera enregistrée, et tout comportement inhabituel sera signalé. Au cours de l’examen, vous devrez vous conformer à l’ensemble des règles relatives aux examens.

Avant le jour de l’examen, vous aurez l’occasion de vérifier que votre ordinateur satisfait aux exigences techniques minimales. Vous devrez installer des logiciels et vous assurer d’avoir un navigateur approprié. Certains ordinateurs portables d’employeur ou personnels, comme les Chromebooks, ne permettent pas l’installation de logiciels. Nous vous recommandons donc fortement de vérifier si vous avez un ordinateur qui permet l’installation de logiciels avant la date de votre examen, afin d’éviter toute mauvaise surprise au moment de l’examen.

Le jour de l’examen, vous suivrez plusieurs étapes afin de configurer votre ordinateur pour la surveillance en ligne. Vous devrez télécharger des applications de surveillance (si ce n’est pas déjà fait) et autoriser le surveillant ou la surveillante à accéder à votre webcaméra de même qu’à votre microphone.

L’Institut d’assurance du Canada a conclu, avec le fournisseur de services de surveillance, une entente sur la protection de la vie privée qui s’applique aux enregistrements ainsi qu’aux renseignements personnels.

Regardez la démonstration de Virtual Proctoring

Télécharger la transcription de la vidé

1. Ouvrez une session dans le portail d'examen de l'IAC 10 minutes avant l'heure prévue et cliquez sur « Lancer l'examen » lorsque le chronomètre atteint 0:00:00. Pour accéder à l’examen, vous aurez besoin des renseignements suivants :
- Numéro de membre et mot de passe de l’IAC
- Nom de l’examen que vous voulez passer

2. Vérifications préalables : Si vous n'avez pas encore l'extension ProctorU, le système vous invitera à la télécharger. Il vous sera demandé d'accepter les directives relatives à l'examen ainsi que les conditions d'utilisation (Terms of Service). Le navigateur vous invitera à partager votre écran, ce qui est obligatoire pour la surveillance en ligne. Le système vous guidera automatiquement à travers une série de vérifications pour confirmer que votre système répond aux exigences minimales.

3. Photos et authentification : Vous prendrez une photo de vous-même et de votre pièce d'identité avec photo reconnue par les autorités gouvernementales (par exemple, votre passeport ou votre permis de conduire) aux fins de la vérification de l'identité.

4. Fenêtre de clavardage : Il vous sera demandé de télécharger et d'exécuter l’applet LogMeIn Rescue, qui fera apparaître une boîte de dialogue vous permettant de clavarder avec la personne chargée de surveiller l’examen. Si le système vous le demande, assurez-vous de cliquer sur « open » (ouvrir) ou « allow » (autoriser) pour permettre l'exécution du fichier. Lorsque la fenêtre de clavardage est à l'état « waiting » (en attente), cela signifie que vous êtes dans la file d'attente et que vous attendez la personne qui surveillera l'examen. CONSEIL : Si le statut est « waiting » (en attente), ne téléchargez pas de nouveau l'applet, car cela vous placerait à la fin de la file d'attente.

5. Connexion au service de surveillance et confirmations : La personne chargée de la surveillance vous accueillera et confirmera que vous avez réussi les étapes de vérification de l'identité. Vous passerez en revue les règlements relatifs à l'examen avec cette personne, qui vous demandera de voir toute ressource autorisée que vous pourrez utiliser pendant l'examen.

6. Vérification à distance du système : La personne vous demandera la permission de contrôler à distance votre souris et votre clavier à l'aide de l'applet LogMeIn Rescue, afin de s'assurer qu'aucun programme non autorisé n'est en cours d'exécution. Vous pourrez voir tout ce que la personne fait pendant cette étape, et il lui sera impossible d'accéder à des fichiers à votre insu.

7. Panoramique avec la webcaméra : La personne vous demandera de lui montrer, avec votre webcaméra, les quatre murs de la pièce où vous vous trouvez ainsi que votre espace de travail. Elle pourra également vous demander de lui montrer votre écran d'ordinateur. La personne s'assurera que votre téléphone cellulaire est hors de portée.

8. Passation de l’examen : La personne vous laissera le contrôle de votre ordinateur et vous pourrez alors commencer l'examen.

REMARQUE : La vue de votre webcaméra et le contenu de votre écran seront enregistrés pendant toute la durée de l'examen.

À faire quand vous aurez terminé l'examen :

1. AVANT de soumettre l'examen, à l’aide de la fenêtre de clavardage, avisez la personne surveillant l'examen que vous avez terminé. Elle supervisera le processus de soumission de l'examen.

2. Déconnectez-vous du site d'examen et du navigateur : la personne doit voir que vous vous déconnectez du site Web de l'examen et que vous fermez tous les onglets du navigateur.

3. Fermez la fenêtre de clavardage de ProctorU; cela mettra fin à votre session avec ProctorU. Une fois la fenêtre de clavardage fermée, le système vous invitera à répondre à un sondage sur la satisfaction de la clientèle.

4. Et voilà, vous avez terminé! Passez une belle journée.

Choix de la date et de l’heure de l’examen

Il est fortement recommandé de réserver une plage horaire immédiatement après l’inscription à l’examen surveillé virtuellement. Les séances d’examen commencent à différents moments de la journée, tous les jours de la semaine, selon la disponibilité des surveillants. Comme l’heure sera indiquée selon le système 24 heures, sélectionnez correctement l’heure de début voulue. Par exemple, si vous voulez commencer l’examen à 14 h, sélectionnez « 1400 ». Les plages horaires seront attribuées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Après avoir reçu le courriel de réservation, cliquez ici pour choisir la date et l’heure de l’examen. Sélectionnez l’examen voulu. Sélectionnez l’examen voulu. Sélectionnez l’onglet Surveillance en ligne, puis choisissez une date et une heure qui vous conviennent. Vous recevrez ensuite un courriel confirmant la tenue de votre examen; conservez-le précieusement.

Exigences techniques

Pour passer un examen surveillé virtuellement, vous aurez besoin :

d’un ordinateur portable ou de bureau personnel qui permet de télécharger des logiciels (vous ne pouvez pas utiliser un appareil mobile, un Chromebook, une tablette, une version de Windows pour laquelle le soutien technique est terminé ni un appareil dont le système d’exploitation est une version d’essai ou fonctionne en mode sans échec).

d’un microphone et d’une webcaméra (les microphones des casques d’écoute ne sont pas autorisés);

d’une connexion Internet dont la vitesse est d’au moins 1 Mbps de débit ascendant et d’au moins 1,5 Mbps de débit descendant. Vous pouvez vérifier la vitesse de votre appareil ici.

Utilisez la meilleure connexion Internet possible, car une interruption de connexion ou une déconnexion peuvent nuire à votre séance d’examen, voire y mettre fin. Voici des mesures qui aident à prévenir les déconnexions :

  • Branchez-vous à Internet avec une connexion câblée plutôt qu’avec le WiFi. .
  • Si vous utilisez le WiFi, demandez aux autres personnes vivant sous votre toit de ne pas utiliser Internet pendant votre examen.
  • Si vous utilisez un réseau privé virtuel (VPN) sur votre appareil, déconnectez-vous de ce réseau. La plateforme ProctorU ne fonctionne pas bien quand une connexion VPN est active.

 

Vérifiez que vous pouvez :

Accéder au portail des examens.

utiliser votre équipement - ouvrez une session et repérez, au bas de la page, le lien qui permet d’effectuer la vérification. Assurez-vous que l’ordinateur est configuré pour la webcaméra et le microphone que vous prévoyez utiliser lors de l’examen. Il est à noter que vous ne pourrez pas utiliser un casque d’écoute pendant l’examen. Nous vous recommandons de vérifier votre système bien avant l'examen et de le vérifier de nouveau environ 4 heures avant l'heure prévue de début de l'examen.

Installer des applications sur votre système. L'extension ProctorU devrait avoir été installée dans votre navigateur lors de la vérification du système. Le jour de l'examen, vous devrez installer une petite application pour établir la connexion au service de surveillance.

Regardez la vidéo sur la vérification de l’utilisation de la plateforme de surveillance virtuelle sur Chrome

 

Regardez la vidéo sur la vérification de l’utilisation de la plateforme de surveillance virtuelle sur Firefox

 

IMPORTANT : Si vous n'avez pas d'ordinateur de bureau ou portable personnel et ne pouvez vous en procurer un, ou encore que vous avez besoin d'un service de surveillance en français, vous pourriez être admissible aux examens en ligne chronométrés. Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage.

Choses à faire et à éviter

À faire

bedroom clutterAssoyez-vous dans une pièce silencieuse et non encombrée (cela vaut aussi pour les murs), où l’on ne vous dérangera pas.
Laptop on deskPlacez votre ordinateur portable sur un bureau dégagé.
well lit roomInstallez-vous à l’intérieur, dans une pièce bien éclairée.
Monitor displayUtilisez un seul écran.

À éviter

women on a bedNe vous installez pas sur un lit.
woman drinking beverageNe mangez pas et ne buvez pas pendant l’examen.
People wearing hats and headphonesNe mettez pas d’écouteurs et ne portez pas de couvre-chef, à moins qu’il ne s’agisse d’un couvre-chef exigé par votre religion.
People with babies and petsNe passez pas l’examen dans une pièce où se trouve un tiers, y compris un enfant ou un animal de compagnie.

Renseignements importants

Quand vous cliquez sur le bouton « Lancer l’examen », vous ne démarrez pas l’examen proprement dit. Vous établissez plutôt la connexion avec le service de surveillance virtuelle. Le délai moyen d’établissement de la connexion avec ce service est de cinq à 15 minutes, mais il peut atteindre 45 minutes en période de pointe. Veuillez patienter et ne pas actualiser la page.
  •  Veuillez vérifier la configuration de votre système environ quatre heures avant l’heure prévue de début de l’examen.
  •  Prévoyez un minimum de quatre heures pour la totalité de la séance d’examen, car l’établissement de la connexion avec le service de surveillance peut prendre du temps.
  •  Fermez tous les programmes et redémarrez votre ordinateur avant de lancer l’examen et le processus de connexion au service de surveillance.
  •  Branchez-vous à Internet avec une connexion câblée (Ethernet), si c’est possible. Une connexion sans fil risque davantage d’être perturbée.


Télécharger ces conseils

 

Utilisation d’un ordinateur de travail

Nous vous recommandons fortement d’utiliser votre ordinateur portable ou de bureau personnel. Toutefois, si vous devez passer un examen en ligne sur l’ordinateur dont vous vous servez pour le travail, veuillez prendre connaissance des recommandations supplémentaires ci-dessous, qui réduiront le risque de problèmes techniques. Vous devrez peut-être aussi communiquer avec un représentant du soutien des TI de votre entreprise avant le jour de l’examen pour que certaines de ces modifications soient apportées à l’ordinateur.

• Désactivez tous les paramètres du pare-feu de navigateur ou Internet applicable.

• Assurez-vous de ne pas être connecté(e) à un réseau privé virtuel (VPN).

• Vérifiez que vous n’utilisez pas un navigateur Web que votre entreprise a configuré à l’aide de ses propres paramètres de sécurité.

• Désactivez les notifications (de courriel, de réunion, etc.) de votre compte de courriel avant de lancer le processus de connexion.

• Désactivez tout logiciel conçu pour enregistrer ou surveiller le contenu affiché à l’écran.

• Désactivez tout logiciel de filtrage de contenu susceptible de vous empêcher de lancer l’examen.

• Vérifiez si vous avez les droits d’administrateur nécessaires pour pouvoir télécharger et installer des applications.

Soutien

Après avoir commencé l’examen, vous aurez un accès en temps réel aux techniciens de ProctorU. Ces techniciens seront votre premier point de contact en cas de difficultés techniques. Pour communiquer avec un technicien de ProctorU, cliquez sur l’icône du hibou dans le coin supérieur droit de l’écran, puis sur « help ». Le système affichera un formulaire en ligne que vous devrez remplir et il établira la communication avec un technicien. Ce processus peut prendre quelques minutes. Ne vous inquiétez pas du délai : l’examen débutera une fois la configuration terminée et après que vous aurez vous-même commencé l’examen.

Screengrab of assistance page

Si vous perdez votre accès Internet pendant le processus de connexion et que le temps qui vous est accordé pour l’examen a expiré, communiquez avec le Service aux membres de l’Institut. Nous essaierons de reprogrammer votre examen pendant la même séance.

Si vous éprouvez des difficultés techniques ou que vous n’arrivez pas à terminer le processus de connexion, communiquez avec le Service aux membres, et nous fixerons une nouvelle date d’examen pour vous.

Service aux membres : 1 866 362-8585 ou iicmail@insuranceinstitute.ca

Du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 19 h (heure de l’Est)