AEC/DEC Damage Insurance CIP Qualification Examination (formerly CEGEP Exam Challenges)

 

Starting April 2022, graduates who complete the Attestation d’études collégiales (AEC) Damage Insurance program or the diplôme d’études collégiales (DEC) Financial services and Insurance Technology are eligible to obtain four Chartered Insurance Professional (CIP) credits upon successful completion of AEC/DEC Damage Insurance CIP Qualification Examination. Applicants must submit their AEC/DEC damage insurance diploma and pass the qualifying exam to be eligible to receive the CIP credits below:

•  C11 Principles and Practice of Insurance,
•  C12 Insurance on Property (Quebec),
•  C13 Insurance Against Liability – Part 1, and
•  C14 Automobile Insurance – Part 1 (Quebec)

These credits can be used towards obtaining the CIP designation.

Click here to register for the AEC/DEC Damage Insurance CIP Qualification Examination.

Certificate Programs

Students who receive credit for C11, C12, C13 and C14 by passing the AEC/DEC Damage Insurance CIP Qualification Examination will also be eligible for two (2) additional elective CIP credits, if they complete one of the Institute’s eligible certificate programs such as Commercial Insurance Certificate Program or Risk Management Certificate Program.

Exam Challenges

Starting April 2022, students will no longer be able to challenge C11, C12, C13, or C14. However, students will have until April 2023 to challenge C70: Gateway to Commercial Insurance and either C120: Underwriting Essentials or C121: Advanced Underwriting if they are successful in the AEC/DEC Damage Insurance CIP Qualification Examination. After April 2023, students will no longer be eligible to challenge C70 and either C120 or C121.

The Autorité des marchés financiers (the “AMF”) License

If a student has not obtained the Attestation d’études collégiales (AEC) Damage Insurance program or the diplôme d’études collégiales (DEC) Financial services and Insurance Technology diploma, but has obtained one of the following license classes, they will be eligible for a C11 credit. Students must apply for the CIP credit recognition within 2 years of obtaining one of the following AMF licenses.

•  Personal-lines damage insurance (03-114, 03-411, 03-412)
•  Commercial-lines damage insurance (03-114, 03-412, 03-413)
•  Personal lines claims adjustment (05-115, 05-511, 05-512)
•  Commercial lines claims adjustment (05-115, 05-512, 05-513)

Please email a copy of your license to credits@insuranceinstitute.ca.

Eligibility Requirements

Students must provide proof of the Attestation d’études collégiales (AEC) Damage Insurance program or the diplôme d’études collégiales (DEC) Financial services and Insurance Technology diploma in the form of an official transcript and pass the qualifying examination to receive the credits.

Please email your official transcript to credits@insuranceinstitute.ca.

Examination Fees

The fee to write the exam is $350 and a $50 administration fee. Examination rewrite fees are $350.

Applicants are required to be members of their local IIC Institute. Contact Member Services for further information.

Examination Schedule

Examinations will be offered one day a month in a virtually proctored format. In-person exam may be available at selected location. Please contact Member Services via email at IICmail@insuranceinstitute.ca

For registration and examination dates and times, see table below.

Examination Dates

 Exam Date

 Registration Opens

 Deadline to Register/Book

 Rescheduling/Transfer

 April 14, 2022

 March 15, 2022

 April 13, 2022

 April 13, 2022

 May 17, 2022

 April 14, 2022

 May 16, 2022

 May 16, 2022

 June 17, 2022

 May 17, 2022

 June 16, 2022

 June 16, 2022

Examination Format

The examination will be based on the IIC’s Insurance Professional Competency Profile and will cover content representative of that covered in C11 Principles and Practice of Insurance, C12 Insurance on Property (Quebec), C13 Insurance Against Liability – Part 1, and C14 Automobile Insurance – Part 1 (Quebec). You can review the AEC/DEC Damage Insurance Competency Profile and Blueprint here.

The examination will consist of 150 stand-alone multiple-choice questions (MCQ) and will be 3 hours in duration. Please click here to review the sample questions.

Examination Policies

Please contact Member Services at 1-866-362-8585 for assistance.

Rescheduling

Candidates are allowed to reschedule up to 24 hours prior to their scheduled exam, within the same examination session at no additional charge, capacity permitting. Candidates can also transfer to another examination session 24 hours prior to the scheduled exam, at no additional charge for up to a year of their initial registration. If they have not written their exam within that year, they will forfeit their exam fee only and will need to register again.

If a candidate wishes to reschedule in the same session or transfer to the next administration within 24 hours of their exam booking, an additional charge of $50 will apply.

Absence

Candidates who miss their scheduled exam must contact Member Services to reschedule in the same session or transfer to another administration. An additional charge of $50 will apply. Candidates must complete the exam within one year of the missed exam.

Withdrawal

If a candidate wishes to fully withdraw, their exam fee will be forfeited.

Rewrites

Candidates are allowed two rewrites or three attempts in total within a year. After three unsuccessful attempts, the student will no longer be eligible for CIP course credits and will need to enroll through regular tuition. Students who have not completed their rewrite attempts within a year of their original registration will forfeit their eligibility for credits and may reattempt to take their CIP program through the regular tuition path.

Accommodations

For information on accommodations, please click here.

Appeal

Multiple choice exams are carefully constructed to ensure that each question is accurately scored. Exam questions are also reviewed after administration to ensure that there are no errors in the scoring. If a candidate believes that an exam is erroneously scored, they can request a rescore for a fee of $50 which will consist of a manual recount of the candidate’s answers, but it is unlikely to produce a changed result.

The deadline to appeal your grade is seven (7) business days from the date of the grade release. Should you wish to appeal your examination, please contact Member Services at 1-866-362-8585.

Examination Breaches and Academic Dishonesty

The examination will be a closed-book exam and no external materials will be permitted. If a student is found to have breached the exam or has acted in an academically dishonest manner, their examination results will be disqualified, and they will not be eligible to receive CIP credits through credit recognition. Students may reattempt to take their CIP through the regular tuition path once their suspension period has passed. Detailed rules and regulations can be found under the Rules and Regulations page.

Examen du PAA pour la reconnaissance des acquis des programmes d'AEC/de DEC en assurance de dommages

 

À compter d’avril 2022, les diplômées et diplômés du cégep détenant une attestation d’études collégiales (AEC) en assurance de dommages ou un diplôme d’études collégiales (DEC) en techniques de services financiers et d'assurances peuvent se faire créditer quatre cours du programme de Professionnel d’assurance agréé (PAA) en passant l’examen du PAA pour la reconnaissance des acquis des programmes d’AEC/de DEC en assurance de dommages. L’étudiant ou l’étudiante doit fournir une copie de son AEC ou de son DEC et réussir l’examen; les quatre cours suivants lui sont alors crédités :

•  C11 – Principes et pratique de l’assurance
•  C12 – L’assurance des biens (Québec)
•  C13 – L'assurance de la responsabilité civile, 1re partie
•  C14 – L’assurance automobile, 1re partie (Québec)

Ces crédits peuvent ensuite être utilisés pour l’obtention du titre de PAA.

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire à l’examen du PAA pour la reconnaissance des acquis des programmes d’AEC/de DEC en assurance de dommages.

Programmes de certificat

L’étudiant ou l’étudiante qui réussit l’examen de reconnaissance des acquis et se fait créditer les cours C11, C12, C13 et C14 peut en outre se faire créditer deux cours au choix du PAA en réussissant l’un des programmes de certificat admissibles de l’Institut, par exemple le certificat en assurance des entreprises ou le certificat en gestion des risques.

Droits d’accès aux examens du programme de PAA

À compter d’avril 2022, les titulaires d’une AEC ou d’un DEC n’auront plus de droits d’accès aux examens des cours C11, C12, C13 ou C14. Cependant, l’étudiant ou l’étudiante qui réussit l’examen de reconnaissance des acquis aura jusqu’à avril 2023 pour exercer ses droits d’accès à l'examen du cours C70 – Introduction à l’assurance des entreprises ainsi qu'à celui du cours C120 – Les rudiments de l’appréciation du risque ou C121 – L’appréciation du risque : notions avancées, au choix. Après avril 2023, il ne sera plus possible d’exercer de droits d’accès aux examens des cours C70, C120 ni C121.

Certificats de l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF)

Si l’étudiant ou l’étudiante n’a pas obtenu une AEC ou un DEC en assurance de dommages, mais détient l’un des certificats de l’AMF énumérés ci-dessous, le cours C11 du programme de PAA peut lui être crédité. L’étudiant ou l’étudiante doit pour cela présenter sa demande dans les deux ans suivant l’obtention de son certificat de l’AMF.

•  Assurance de dommages des particuliers (compétences 03-114, 03-411 et 03-412)
•  Assurance de dommages des entreprises (compétences 03-114, 03-412, 03-413)
•  Expertise en règlement de sinistres en assurance de dommages des particuliers (compétences 05-115, 05-511 et 05-512)
•  Expertise en règlement de sinistres en assurance de dommages des entreprises (compétences 05-115, 05-512 et 05-513)

Veuillez envoyer une copie de votre licence à credits@insuranceinstitute.ca.

Critères d’admissibilité

L’étudiant ou l’étudiante doit fournir une preuve d’obtention de son attestation d’études collégiales (AEC) ou de son diplôme d’études collégiales (DEC) en assurance de dommages sous forme de relevé de notes officiel et doit réussir l’examen de reconnaissance des acquis pour pouvoir se faire créditer des cours.

Veuillez envoyer votre relevé de notes officiel par courriel à credits@insuranceinstitute.ca.

Frais d’examen

Les frais de l'examen de reconnaissance des acquis sont de 350 $, auxquels s’ajoutent 50 $ de frais d’administration. Les frais de reprise de l'examen de reconnaissance des acquis sont de 350 $.

xxx

Calendrier d’examen

L'examen de reconnaissance des acquis se donne une fois par mois sous forme d’examen en télésurveillance. Des examens en personne peuvent être offerts dans certains centres d’examens. Communiquez avec le Service aux membres à l’adresse IICmail@insuranceinstitute.ca pour en savoir davantage.

Le tableau ci-dessous présente les dates d’examen, les dates de début et de fin de la période d’inscription à l’examen, ainsi que les dates limites de modification de l’heure ou de report d’un examen.

Dates d’examen

 Date de l’examen

 Début de l’inscription

 Fin de l’inscription

 Date limite de modification de l’heure ou de report

13 juillet 2022

13 juin 2022

12 juillet 2022

12 juillet 2022

17 août 2022

17 juillet 2022

16 août 2022

16 août 2022

16 septembre 2022

18 août 2022

15 septembre 2022

15 septembre 2022

17 octobre 2022

17 septembre 2022

16 octobre 2022

16 octobre 2022

17 novembre 2022

18 octobre 2022

16 novembre 2022

16 novembre 2022

7 décembre 2022

18 novembre 2022

6 décembre 2022

6 décembre 2022

Contenu de l’examen

Les questions ont été élaborées de manière à évaluer les connaissances qu’un diplômé ou qu’une diplômée détenant un AEC ou un DEC doit posséder pour obtenir son admission au programme de PAA et se faire créditer quatre des cours du programme : C11 – Principes et pratique de l’assurance, C12 – L’assurance des biens (Québec), C13 – L’assurance de la responsabilité civile, 1re partie, et C14 – L’assurance automobile, 1re partie (Québec).

L’examen est fondé sur le profil de compétence pour les titulaires d’une AEC en assurance de dommages ou d’un DEC en techniques de services financiers et d’assurances. Il comprend 150 questions à choix multiple valant un point chacune et dure trois heures.

Cliquez ici pour voir des exemples de questions.

Politiques sur les examens

Si vous avez besoin d’aide, communiquez avec le Service aux membres au 1 866 362-8585.

Modification de l’heure ou report de l’examen

Il est possible de modifier, sans frais, l’heure de son examen jusqu’à 24 heures avant le moment prévu de l’examen, pour la même date d’examen, sous réserve des disponibilités. Il est également possible de faire reporter son examen, sans frais et jusqu’à 24 heures avant l’heure d’examen prévue, à une autre date pouvant aller jusqu’à un an suivant la date d’inscription. Si l’examen n’est pas passé dans ce délai d’un an, les frais d’examen sont perdus, et l’étudiant ou l’étudiante doit refaire son inscription à l’examen.

Pour une demande de modification de l’heure de l’examen ou de report de l’examen présentée moins de 24 heures avant l’heure prévue de l’examen, des frais supplémentaires de 50 $ sont exigés.

Absence

Les personnes qui ne se présentent pas à leur examen à la date et à l’heure prévues doivent communiquer avec le Service aux membres pour demander de passer leur examen à une autre heure à la même date ou de le reporter à une autre date. Des frais supplémentaires de 50 $ sont alors exigés. L’examen doit être repris dans l’année suivant l’examen raté.

Retrait

Si un candidat ou une candidate retire son inscription à l’examen, ses frais d’examen sont perdus.

Reprise

Le candidat ou la candidate a droit à deux reprises d’examen et à trois tentatives au total dans un délai d’un an. Après trois tentatives échouées, l’étudiant ou l’étudiante perd son admissibilité aux cours crédités dans le programme de PAA et doit s’inscrire au programme de la façon habituelle et payer les frais de scolarité courants. Il en va de même de l’étudiant ou de l’étudiante qui ne passe pas son examen de reprise dans le délai d’un an suivant son inscription à l’examen.

Services adaptés

Pour en savoir davantage sur les services adaptés, veuillez cliquer ici.

Appel

Les examens à choix multiple sont élaborés avec soin, de manière que les points accordés pour chaque question soient exacts. De plus, une fois un examen terminé, l’exactitude de la note obtenue est vérifiée. Si le candidat ou la candidate estime que sa note n’a pas été bien calculée et veut en appeler de son résultat, il lui est possible de présenter une demande de révision. Des frais de 50 $ sont exigés pour un appel. On procède alors à une vérification manuelle de l’addition des points; il est toutefois très rare que cette vérification entraîne une modification de la note.

Infraction aux règlements et malhonnêteté

L’examen se fait sans documentation, et toute ressource externe est interdite. Toute infraction aux règlements sur les examens ou tout acte malhonnête entraîne l’invalidation du résultat d’examen et la suspension de l’étudiant ou de l’étudiante, qui perd son droit à se faire créditer des cours dans le programme de PAA. Une fois sa suspension terminée, l’étudiant ou l’étudiante peut s’inscrire de la façon habituelle au PAA et payer les frais de scolarité courants. Le détail des règlements figure à la page Règlements sur les examens.

Résultats d’examen

Après avoir passé votre examen, vous recevrez une fiche de pointage qui présente la répartition de votre note, établie d’après le barème de pondération. La fiche de pointage peut vous aider à cerner les aspects de la matière que vous souhaiterez peut-être approfondir.

La note de passage de l’examen est fixée à 70 %.