Description of Examination Format

The format of computer-based examinations (CBE) for most CIP courses includes multiple-choice, narrative and application questions. The number of questions vary by course. The format of the examinations and the number, proportion and types of questions for any or all courses are subject to change without prior notification.

To enhance question security and minimize question exposure, The Insurance Institute of Canada’s examinations use multiple examination forms. A statistical process of forms equating is used to ensure that the examination forms are of equal difficulty. The result is that the performance required to meet the standardized passing score is the same for each examination form and that student results from different forms are comparable.

Structure and Format of the Examinations

The format of examinations for most CIP courses includes multiple-choice questions (MCQ), and narrative and application questions (constructed response questions). The number of MCQ varies by course.

The number of narrative and application questions (constructed response questions) also varies by course.

    A few exams have only constructed response questions and include:
  • C16 The Business of Insurance
  • C57 Cargo and Goods in Transit Insurances
  • C58 Marine Hull and Associated Liability – Part 1
  • C59 Marine Hull and Associated Liability – Part 2

CIP final examinations are marked out of 200. Each MCQ is worth two (2) marks, such that 60 questions is equivalent to one hundred and twenty (120) marks. The number of marks a constructed response question is worth varies from as little as one (1) mark to as high as twenty (20) marks. Each constructed response question will have the number of marks assigned to it on the final examination.

Duration of the Examinations

Unless otherwise noted, students are given three (3) hours to complete an examination.

Examination Blueprint

Each CIP examination is built using a course-specific examination blueprint. Examination blueprints identify the weighting of each textbook study tested on the final examination in relation to the total examination mark. The blueprints are developed by The Insurance Institute of Canada with the valued input of insurance industry subject matter experts.

The importance of each study tested, as indicated by the percentage weight on the final examination, reflects the knowledge and understanding required of the students to competently perform in the insurance industry.

To access a blueprint, students should log into their eLearning account and look for course resources under My Courses. For courses with an online tutorial, students should click on the course textbook online tutorial link, for courses without an online tutorial, students should click on the course textbook PDF link. Blueprints can be found in a section called 'A Note About Exams'. If students have difficulty finding the document or accessing eLearning, they can contact Member Services. Students are encouraged to use the blueprint to assist with their preparation for the final examination. Each blueprint will include the study and the weight assigned to each study.

See sample blueprint:

Sample Examination Blueprint

Study

 Weight

 Study 1

 10%

 Study 2

 11%

 Study 3

 8%

 Study 4

 12%

 Study 5

 12%

 Study 6

 11%

 Study 7

 8%

 Study 8

 12%

 Study 9

 8%

 Study 10

 8%

 

A breakdown of the structure for each final examination can be seen on the course specific blueprint posted on the website.

The Insurance Institute will adhere to the parameters outlined by the blueprint with a +/- 5% range when building the exams.

Multiple-Choice Questions

Multiple-Choice Questions


Multiple-choice questions (MCQ) are comprised of a question component, or “stem”, and four (4) options, of which there is only one (1) correct answer and three (3) incorrect answers, or “distractors”.

A typical multiple-choice question used on the national exam looks like this:

Which of the following factors is a unique element of insurance contracts?
  1. Agreement
  2. Consideration
  3. Utmost good faith
  4. Legality of purpose

To answer multiple-choice questions more effectively, use the following tips:

• Answer the questions you know first. Once you are done, come back to the ones you aren’t sure about.

• Use the process of elimination. Eliminate the obviously incorrect alternatives by crossing them off so they do not distract you.

• Don’t change your answers. Research has shown that your first choice is often the correct one, so unless you’re absolutely sure you’ve made a mistake, go with your first instinct.

• Read the entire question, including the stem and every answer option.

• Read each question as though it were a true or false question, and choose the “true” answer.

• If you’re debating between two similar answers, try identifying which is the worse answer, rather than which is the better one. Looking at the question from a different perspective can sometimes help clarify the underlying purpose of the question.

More Examples

Please keep in mind that these are ONLY a sample of the type of questions students may see and should not be considered an exhaustive list of how multiple-choice questions may be worded or phrased.

Who has insurable interest in the insured’s vehicle?
  1. The lessor
  2. The insurer
  3. Insured’s daughter, who drives the vehicle to school three times per week
  4. Insured’s mother, who is involved in an at-fault accident while driving insured’s vehicle

Example of a multiple-choice question with a scenario:

Bobby runs a mechanic shop and needs to purchase automobile insurance to protect his employees when they are working on repairing, as well as driving customers’ vehicles. Which automobile insurance policy should Bobby purchase?
  1. SPF1 Standard Owner’s Automobile Policy
  2. SPF 2 Standard Driver’s Automobile Policy
  3. SPF 4 Standard Garage Automobile Policy
  4. SPF 9 Transportation Network Policy

Narrative and Application Questions (Constructed Response Questions)

Constructed response questions require the students to write (or “construct”) their answer.

Constructed response questions are included on all CIP final examinations.

The number of marks a constructed response question is worth varies from as little as one (1) mark to as high as twenty (20) marks. Each question will indicate the number of marks it is worth. When writing the answers, students should keep in mind how many marks any given question is worth.

A typical narrative question on the national exam looks like this:
_________________________________

Explain the many loss prevention activities that the insurance industry is involved in.
Include examples to support your answer. (10 marks) _________________________

When answering a narrative question, consider the following tips:

• Read the question carefully. Key terms (for example, describe, define) will provide guidance on the type of answer required.

• Ensure that the points included in your answer match the mark allocation.

• Use the notepad to record the parts of the question that you know. When you see your points noted, you may remember the remaining answer points.

Answering Application Questions

Application questions are designed to test your ability to apply what you have learned from the course material to a common insurance scenario. Application questions may require you to draw on material from more than one section of the text or, in some cases, to use a specific section of the course material to formulate your answer. These questions give you an opportunity to demonstrate to the exam marker your knowledge of the subject matter beyond merely repeating the course material verbatim.

An application question consists of the scenario and the question.

A typical application question on the national exam looks like this:
______________________________________________________

Full Coverage Insurance is insuring a risk valued at $2,500,000, with an original premium of $10,000. To spread the risk, they had Blessing Insurance reinsure 30% of the risk and Coverage Plus reinsure 20%, for an equal percentage of the premium.

a) Identify and explain the type of reinsurance used in this scenario. (4 marks)
b) How much of the annual premium, if any, would each company receive? Explain how you would determine the amount. (6 marks)
c) Would each company be required to pay for the loss? If so, how much would each company have to pay? Show your calculations. (10 marks)
____________________________________________________________

When answering application questions, consider the following tips:
 
• Read the question carefully. Students often overlook or misinterpret a key word or phrase that determines the type of answer required.

• Create an outline to organize your thoughts. Map out your response on the notepad.

• Type your answer in point form if the question warrants or if you are running out of time.

• Pay attention to the marks allocated and provide an answer with sufficient points. An application question is often worth 20 marks. This means that your answer should contain at least 20 points and be of sufficient quality to demonstrate your knowledge of the text material.

• Convince the marker that you know the answer by keeping to the point. Be direct in your answer, and avoid going off on a tangent

More Examples

Read the constructed response question carefully. If required to identify, outline, or describe a specific number of items or concepts, (or provide a specific number of examples) the number required will be emphasized as follows:

  • “Provide ONE (1) example of…” or “Identify and describe the THREE (3) types of…”.
  • If a question asks for a specific number of items and more than the requested number is provided, ONLY the first items provided will be marked. For example, if asked to identify THREE (3) elements of a contract, and five elements are provided, only the first three will be considered for marks, even if they are incorrect.

 

Constructed response narrative questions are generally used to evaluate a student’s understanding of concepts. These are typically formatted as a simple question using any of the following verbs:
  • Identify
  • Outline
  • Describe
  • Discuss
  • Explain
  • Compare
  • Or provide examples

Examples of constructed response narrative questions are provided below. Please be advised that these are ONLY a sample of the type of questions students may see and should not be considered an exhaustive list of how constructed response questions may be formatted.

Identify and briefly describe TWO (2) elements required for a common law contract to be considered valid. (8 marks)

What is reinsurance? Explain why reinsurance is purchased. (10 marks)

Briefly explain physical hazards and moral hazards. Provide ONE (1) example of EACH type of hazard. (5 marks)

Constructed response application questions are also used to evaluate a student’s ability to understand as well as apply their understanding to circumstances/scenarios that are commonly faced while working in the insurance industry. These questions will involve a detailed scenario, followed by one or more series of questions related to that scenario. These scenarios are typically formatted using any of the following verbs:
  • Illustrate
  • Contrast
  • Solve
  • Analyze
  • Assess
  • Create
  • Interpret and discuss
  • Explain and/or
  • Explain using an example

A series of sample constructed response application questions follows. Please be advised that these are ONLY a sample of the type of questions students may see and should not be considered an exhaustive list of how constructed response questions may be formatted and verbs used.

Scenario – Single Question:
Tom and his friend Suzy are at a wedding with an open bar, both have had several cocktails. Suzy tells Tom she wants to sell her vehicle, and Tom offers to pay her $2,500 for it. Suzy agrees to this amount, and Tom uses his cellphone to send her an electronic money transfer. Since they are both heavily intoxicated, they call a taxi to get home. They plan to meet the next morning at Suzy’s house so she can give Tom the vehicle keys and ownership.

Does the sale of Suzy’s vehicle to Tom constitute a valid contract? Explain why or why not. (5 marks)

Scenario – Multi-part Question:
Harpreet purchases a new home and contacts a broker to arrange insurance. The broker helps Harpreet select the appropriate coverage for her home. The broker helps her fill in the application, which he sends to the insurer. The broker does not give Harpreet any paperwork to take home, but he tells her that she will have insurance coverage for 30 days until the insurer is able to issue the policy.
  1. Based on what the broker has stated, what is Harpreet’s temporary insurance known as? (1 mark)
  2. What is the purpose of this temporary insurance? (3 marks)
  3. Describe any problems that may arise from the temporary insurance being provided orally but not in writing. (6 marks)

Scenario – Repeated Across Multiple Questions on the Exam: In some instances, the same scenario may apply to multiple questions on the examination. In these cases, the scenario will be repeated in each question, along with a preamble stating which questions the scenario applies to.

For Example, on an exam a student may see and instruction above a question indicating, “The following scenario applies to questions 62 and 63”:

62. Connie purchases a new vehicle and calls her broker, Ken, to arrange for insurance. Ken tells her that he can just take an oral application over the phone and that she will need to come into the office to sign the forms. He asks Connie a series of questions and records her answers, then informs Connie that he will send her information to the insurer. Ken calls Connie two more times to clarify information needed before the insurer will issue the policy.

Two weeks pass and Connie does not hear from Ken nor does she receive the policy documents. She tries to contact Ken but is unable to reach him. After not hearing back from Ken for another week, Connie calls the manager of the brokerage to complain about both the application process and the lack of response from her broker.

How might Connie’s experience have been improved if Ken had asked her to fill in a written application instead of completing it orally? (5 marks)

The instruction again repeated as well as scenario. “The following scenario applies to questions 62 and 63”:

63. Connie purchases a new vehicle and calls her broker, Ken, to arrange for insurance. Ken tells her that he can just take an oral application over the phone and that she will need to come into the office to sign the forms. He asks Connie a series of questions and records her answers, then informs Connie that he will send her information to the insurer. Ken calls Connie two more times to clarify information needed before the insurer will issue the policy.

Two weeks pass and Connie does not hear from Ken nor does she receive the policy documents. She tries to contact Ken but is unable to reach him. After not hearing back from Ken for another week, Connie calls the manager of the brokerage to complain about both the application process and the lack of response from her broker.

  1. What impact might Connie’s poor customer service experience have on the brokerage? (2 marks)
  2. Outline the best way for the manager of the brokerage to handle Connie’s complaint. (3 marks)

Have a question about exam preparation?

Ask the Institute - you'll find the answers to the questions our students ask the most. We're here to help you make the most of your studies and your career in insurance.

 

 

Ask the Institute

Remarque au sujet des examens

Les examens informatisés de la plupart des cours du programme de Professionnel d’assurance agréé (PAA) comprennent des questions objectives, des questions à développement ainsi que des questions de mise en application. Le nombre de questions à développement et de questions de mise en application varie également en fonction du cours. Le format des examens informatisés, c’est-à-dire le nombre et les types de questions qu’ils contiennent, peut être modifié sans préavis.

Afin d'accroître la confidentialité des questions et d'en prévenir le plus possible la divulgation, les examens de l'Institut d'assurance du Canada existent en diverses versions. L'Institut a recours à un processus d'égalisation statistique afin de s'assurer que toutes les versions d'un même examen sont d'un niveau de difficulté équivalent. Ainsi, l'effort à fournir pour obtenir la note de passage est le même, peu importe la version de l'examen, et les résultats obtenus par les étudiants aux diverses versions de l'examen sont comparables.

Structure et format des examens

La plupart des examens des cours du programme de PAA comportent des questions à choix multiples ainsi que des questions à développement et des questions de mise en application (questions exigeant une réponse élaborée). Le nombre de questions à choix multiples peut varier d’un cours à l’autre, et se situe entre 40 et 60.

Le nombre de questions à développement et de questions de mise en application (questions exigeant une réponse élaborée) varie également d’un cours à l’autre.

    Certains examens ne comportent que des questions exigeant une réponse élaborée. C’est le cas des examens suivants :
  • C16 L’industrie des assurances
  • C57 Cargo and Goods in Transit Insurances
  • C58 Marine Hull and Associated Liability – Part 1
  • C59 Marine Hull and Associated Liability – Part 2

La note finale des examens des cours du programme de PAA est calculée sur 200 points. Étant donné que chaque question à choix multiples vaut deux (2) points, 60 questions équivalent à un total de 120 points. Le nombre de points attribués à chaque question exigeant une réponse élaborée peut varier; ces questions peuvent valoir aussi peu qu’un (1) point et jusqu’à vingt (20) points. Le nombre de points attribué à chacune des questions exigeant une réponse élaborée est indiqué dans l’examen final.

Périodes d’examens et durée des examens

Les examens finaux du programme de PAA sont offerts en format informatisé et se déroulent dans le cadre de périodes d’examens de trois semaines tenues en avril, en juillet et en décembre. À moins d’indication contraire, les étudiants disposent de trois (3) heures pour passer leur examen.

Élaboration des examens

Les examens du programme de PAA sont élaborés suivant un barème de pondération adapté à chaque cours. Ce barème établit la pondération de chacune des leçons du manuel dans la note finale. Les barèmes de pondération sont élaborés par l’Institut d’assurance du Canada, avec la précieuse assistance d’experts techniques de l’industrie.

L’importance accordée aux différentes leçons dans un examen, exprimée par le pourcentage attribué à chacune d’entre elles par rapport à l’ensemble de l’examen, a été déterminée en s’appuyant sur les connaissances et le niveau de compréhension exigés des étudiants pour qu’ils puissent connaître du succès dans l'industrie de l'assurance. Nous invitons les étudiants à se servir du barème de pondération pour la préparation des examens finaux du programme de PAA. Pour consulter un barème de pondération, il faut ouvrir une session dans le site d'apprentissage en ligne et cliquer sur le lien du tutoriel en ligne du cours, sous Mes cours. Le barème de pondération se trouve à la section « Une note sur les examens ». Pour toute difficulté d'accès au barème ou au site d'apprentissage, il faut communiquer avec le Service aux membres. Nous invitons les étudiants à se servir du barème de pondération pour la préparation des examens finaux. Le barème indique le pourcentage de points consacré à chacune des leçons.

Exemple de barème de pondération :

Exemple de barème de pondération

Leçon

 Pondération

 Leçon1

 10%

 Leçon 2

 11%

 Leçon 3

 8%

 Leçon 4

 12%

 Leçon 5

 12%

 Leçon 6

 11%

 Leçon 7

 8%

 Leçon 8

 12%

 Leçon 9

 8%

 Leçon 10

 8%

L’Institut d’assurance s’engage à se conformer au barème de pondération de l’examen à 5 % près dans l’élaboration de ses examens.

Exemples de questions d’examen

Questions à choix multiples


Les questions à choix multiples sont constituées d’un préambule et de quatre (4) choix de réponses, parmi lesquels se trouvent une seule (1) bonne réponse et trois (3) réponses fausses ou « distracteurs ».

Vous trouverez ci-après plusieurs exemples de questions à choix multiples. Veuillez prendre note que ces questions ne constituent qu’un ÉCHANTILLON des types de questions auxquels les étudiants sont appelés à répondre. Il ne s’agit pas d’une liste exhaustive de toutes les formulations susceptibles d’être utilisées lors de la rédaction des questions à choix multiples.

Lequel des facteurs suivants constitue un élément propre aux contrats d’assurance?
  1. L’entente
  2. La contrepartie
  3. La bonne foi absolue
  4. le but licite

Laquelle de personnes suivantes a un intérêt assurable dans le véhicule de l’assuré?
  1. Le bailleur
  2. L’assureur
  3. La fille de l’assuré, qui conduit le véhicule trois fois par semaine pour se rendre au collège
  4. La mère de l’assuré, qui a été impliquée dans un accident dont elle est responsable, alors qu’elle était au volant du véhicule de l’assuré

Exemple de question à choix multiples fondée sur une situation fictive :

Robert, qui exploite un atelier de mécanique, doit se procurer une assurance automobile afin de protéger ses employés lorsqu’ils effectuent des réparations sur les véhicules des clients ainsi que lorsqu’ils conduisent ces véhicules pour en faire l’essai. Quel contrat d’assurance automobile Robert devrait-il souscrire?
  1. SPF 1 : Formule d’assurance automobile des propriétaires de véhicules
  2. SPF 2 : Formule des conducteurs
  3. SPF 4 : Formule des garagistes
  4. SPF 9 : Formule des réseaux de transport

Questions à développement et de mise en application (questions exigeant une réponse élaborée)

Les questions exigeant une réponse élaborée nécessitent que les étudiants rédigent (ou « élaborent ») leur réponse.

On trouve des questions exigeant une réponse élaborée dans tous les examens finaux des cours du programme de PAA.

Le nombre de points attribués à chaque question exigeant une réponse élaborée peut varier; ces questions peuvent valoir aussi peu qu’un (1) point et jusqu’à vingt (20) points. Le nombre de points attribué est indiqué à la suite de la question. Lorsqu’ils rédigent leurs réponses, les étudiants doivent garder à l’esprit le nombre de points attribué à chacune des questions.

Lisez la question attentivement. Si l’on vous demande d’identifier, d’exposer brièvement ou de décrire un nombre précis d’aspects ou de notions (ou de fournir un nombre précis d’exemples), le nombre requis sera indiqué comme suit :
  • « Donnez UN (1) exemple de… » ou « Identifiez et décrivez les TROIS (3) types de… ».
  • Si une question demande de fournir un certain nombre de réponses et que vous donnez plus de réponses que ce qui est demandé, SEULES les premières réponses seront prises en compte. Par exemple, s’il est demandé de nommer TROIS (3) des éléments nécessaires à la validité d’un contrat, et que l’étudiant en fournit cinq, seuls les trois premiers éléments seront pris en compte dans le calcul du résultat, même s’ils sont incorrects.

Les questions à développement servent généralement à évaluer la compréhension des différentes notions. Ces questions sont habituellement formulées de façon simple, à l’aide de l’un des verbes suivants :
  • Identifiez
  • Exposez brièvement
  • Décrivez
  • Dites ce que vous savez
  • Expliquez
  • Faites la comparaison
  • Donnez des exemples

Vous trouverez ci-après des exemples de questions à développement. Veuillez prendre note que ces questions ne constituent qu’un ÉCHANTILLON des types de questions auxquels les étudiants sont appelés à répondre. Il ne s’agit pas d’une liste exhaustive de tous les formats susceptibles d’être utilisés lors de la rédaction des questions exigeant une réponse élaborée.

Nommez et décrivez brièvement DEUX (2) éléments que doit comporter un contrat pour être valide, dans les provinces régies par la common law. (8 points)

Qu’est-ce que la réassurance? Expliquez pourquoi il peut être nécessaire d’avoir recours à la réassurance. (10 points)

Expliquez brièvement en quoi consistent les risques objectifs et les risques subjectifs. Donnez UN (1) exemple pour CHACUN de ces types de risques. (5 points)

Des questions de mise en application sont également utilisées afin d’évaluer la capacité de l’étudiant à comprendre des notions et à mettre celles-ci en pratique dans diverses situations courantes en milieu de travail, dans l’industrie de l’assurance. Ces questions comportent une situation fictive détaillée, sur laquelle portent une ou plusieurs séries de questions. Règle générale, on utilise les verbes suivants pour rédiger ces questions de mise en application :
  • Illustrez
  • Faites la distinction
  • Proposez une solution
  • Analysez
  • Évaluez
  • Créez
  • Interprétez et expliquez
  • Expliquez
  • Expliquez au moyen d’un exemple

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des exemples de questions de mise en application. Veuillez prendre note que ces questions ne constituent qu’un ÉCHANTILLON des types de questions auxquels les étudiants sont appelés à répondre. Il ne s’agit pas d’une liste exhaustive de tous les formats et de tous les verbes susceptibles d’être utilisés lors de la rédaction de questions exigeant une réponse élaborée.

Situation fictive accompagnée d’une question unique :
Thomas et son amie Sophie assistent à un mariage. Ayant accès à un bar ouvert, ils consomment tous les deux plusieurs cocktails. Sophie informe Thomas qu’elle souhaite vendre son véhicule. Thomas lui offre de l’acheter pour 2500 $. Sophie accepte de le lui vendre à ce prix. Thomas utilise son téléphone cellulaire pour effectuer un transfert électronique de fonds. Puisque Sophie et Thomas sont tous les deux en état d’ivresse avancée, ils appellent un taxi pour retourner à leur domicile respectif. Ils conviennent toutefois de se rencontrer à la résidence de Sophie le lendemain matin pour procéder au transfert des titres de propriété du véhicule et à la remise des clés à Thomas.

Est-ce que l’entente conclue par Sophie et Thomas pour la vente du véhicule constitue un contrat valide? Justifiez votre réponse. (5 points)

Situation fictive accompagnée d’une question à volets multiples :
Violette achète une nouvelle maison et communique avec un courtier pour se procurer une police d’assurance. Le courtier aide Violette à choisir les bonnes protections pour assurer sa maison. Il l’aide notamment à remplir la proposition d’assurance, qu’il fait parvenir à l’assureur. Le courtier ne remet aucun document à Violette, mais il lui dit que sa maison est couverte par une assurance pendant 30 jours, période durant laquelle l’assureur émettra la police.
  1. Quel terme désigne l’assurance temporaire qui est fondée sur la déclaration verbale du courtier et aux termes de laquelle la maison de Violette est couverte? (1 point)
  2. À quoi sert l’assurance de la responsabilité civile professionnelle? (3 points)
  3. Décrivez les problèmes que soulève une assurance temporaire communiquée verbalement par rapport à une assurance temporaire établie par écrit. (6 points)

Situation fictive réutilisée pour répondre à plusieurs questions durant un examen : Dans certains cas, la même situation fictive est réutilisée pour répondre à plusieurs questions durant un examen. Elle est alors répétée à chacune des questions et accompagnée d’un préambule qui indique à quelles questions elle s’applique.

Par exemple, l’étudiant qui répond à un examen pourrait voir, au-dessus d’une question, une directive qui indique que « la situation fictive suivante s’applique aux questions 62 et 63 » :

62. Julie-Anne achète un nouveau véhicule et téléphone à son courtier, Sébastien, afin de se procurer un contrat d’assurance. Sébastien informe Julie-Anne que pour présenter une proposition d’assurance, il lui suffit de fournir les renseignements requis par téléphone et de se rendre ensuite au cabinet de courtage pour signer les formulaires. Sébastien pose donc des questions à Julie-Anne, enregistre ses réponses et lui dit qu’il transmettra les renseignements fournis à l’assureur. Par la suite, Sébastien téléphone à deux reprises à Julie-Anne pour obtenir d’autres précisions, dont l’assureur a besoin pour émettre le contrat.

Deux semaines passent, mais Julie-Anne est toujours sans nouvelles de Sébastien et n’a reçu aucun document d’assurance. Elle tente de communiquer avec Sébastien, sans succès. Une troisième semaine s’écoule sans nouvelles. Contrariée, Julie-Anne téléphone alors au directeur du cabinet de courtage pour se plaindre du processus entourant les propositions d’assurance et de l’absence de réponse de Sébastien, son courtier.

En quoi le service à la clientèle offert à Julie-Anne aurait-il pu être amélioré si Sébastien lui avait suggéré de remplir la proposition d’assurance par écrit plutôt que de le faire verbalement, au téléphone? (5 points)

La directive et la situation fictive sont répétées. « La situation fictive suivante s’applique aux questions 62 et 63 » :

63. Julie-Anne achète un nouveau véhicule et communique avec son courtier, Sébastien, afin de se procurer un contrat d’assurance. Sébastien informe Julie-Anne que pour présenter une proposition d’assurance, il lui suffit de fournir les renseignements requis par téléphone et de se rendre ensuite au cabinet de courtage pour signer les formulaires. Sébastien pose donc des questions à Julie-Anne, enregistre ses réponses et lui dit qu’il transmettra les renseignements fournis à l’assureur. Par la suite, Sébastien téléphone à deux reprises à Julie-Anne pour obtenir d’autres précisions, dont l’assureur a besoin pour émettre le contrat.

Deux semaines passent, mais Julie-Anne est toujours sans nouvelles de Sébastien et n’a reçu aucun document d’assurance. Elle tente de communiquer avec Sébastien, sans succès. Une troisième semaine s’écoule sans nouvelles. Contrariée, Julie-Anne téléphone alors au directeur du cabinet de courtage pour se plaindre du processus entourant les propositions d’assurance et de l’absence de réponse de Sébastien, son courtier.

  1. Quelle incidence la piètre qualité du service à la clientèle offert à Julie-Anne pourrait-elle avoir sur le cabinet de courtage? (2 points)
  2. Exposez brièvement quelle est la meilleure façon, pour le directeur du cabinet de courtage, de traiter la plainte de Julie-Anne. (3 points)

Have a question about exam preparation?

Ask the Institute - you'll find the answers to the questions our students ask the most. We're here to help you make the most of your studies and your career in insurance.

 

 

Ask the Institute