Classroom Learning

Classroom instruction is offered through local institutes, chapters, some community colleges, and universities across the country. Courses include approximately 36 hours of instruction. During the semester students complete assignments, quizzes, and a mid-term examination, which are combined in a final term mark. A student’s final course grade is based on a combination of the term mark and the final examination mark.

How It Works

After you have registered, you are welcome to pick up your textbook in person at your local institute prior to the beginning of the course. Depending on the number of students and the availability of instructors, not all courses will be offered as classroom learning in all locations. Independent study is available for courses not offered locally. 

Contact your local Institute or Chapter for current classroom learning courses, schedule, locations, textbook distribution, and registration information. If you have any questions or there's anything the Insurance Institute can help you with, please speak to a Member Services Associate toll-free at 1-866-362-8585, or email us at IICmail@insuranceinstitute.ca.

Please note that withdrawal and refund policies for classroom tuition are subject to the rules and guidelines of each facility or institution. The Insurance Institute will withdraw the examination registration and refund the fee if notice is received prior to the exam entry deadline for the appropriate session. The refund will be less an administration charge of $50.00 plus GST or HST. No refunds will be made after the exam entry deadline. Late-entry and extra-late-entry fees are non-refundable.

What’s Included

Classroom learning registration fees include the following:

• Examination fee
• Cost of tuition
• Course textbook
• Student Resource Guide: Self-Assessment and Practice Workbook (Mandatory and Applied Professionals Courses)
• Online Tutorial (Mandatory and Applied Professionals Courses)

Please note that a membership to your local institute is required in addition to your course registration fees.

Grading

For every CIP course (other than independent study courses), there is a class mark out of 100 and the final exam is out of 200. The class mark is always made up of a mid-term mark out of 60, and the remainder of the marks are made up of a combination of quizzes, assignments, and participation at the instructor’s discretion. Your instructor will provide you with a course outline at the first class and advise you on how 40% of your class mark will be allocated.

You must achieve a minimum mark of 55% on the final examination and a minimum combined classroom mark and final exam mark of 180 to pass the course. To obtain Honours, an overall course grade of 80% (240) is needed, including a minimum final exam mark of 160 out of 200.

For example, if you receive a classroom mark of 70% and a final exam mark of 106, your final mark will be 176/300 or 59%. You will not receive a passing mark, as the combined total of your grades is not above 180 marks. Your course grade will be an “X”.

Rewrite exams become the sole determinants of students’ final grades; the classroom marks will not be carried over. Rewrite exams are to be written in the next session. Permission must be obtained from the Registrar to defer the exam rewrite. Refer to the examinations section for information pertaining to rewrites.

Classroom and Independent Study: Transfer Options

The local Insurance Institutes develop long-term schedules of CIP courses to help students to plan their education. These schedules are subject to change, however, if suitable instructors cannot be identified or if students do not register in sufficient numbers. To avoid missing the opportunity to write an examination in these circumstances, students may register in an independent study course and transfer to a classroom course, for the same subject, later in the session without incurring administration charges.

Two conditions apply:

1. The classroom final examination must be scheduled for the same session as the independent study course examination.

2. The student must pay the tuition cost of the classroom course but will not be required to pay the examination fee or purchase the text, as the independent study course fee includes both these items.

The Institute will refund the tuition portion of the independent study course fee. Transferring to independent study registration from a classroom course is not permitted. Contact our Member Services team if you’d like more information on the transfer option.

Have a question about learning options?

Ask the Institute - you'll find the answers to the questions our students ask the most. We're here to help you make the most of your studies and your career in insurance.

 

 

Links to Ask the Institute page

Cours magistraux

Les cours magistraux sont offerts par le biais des instituts régionaux, des sections ainsi que de certains établissements collégiaux et universitaires, d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Les cours sont d’une durée d’environ 36 heures. En cours de session, les étudiants seront appelés à faire des travaux, des tests‑éclair et un examen de mi-session qui, réunis, leur donneront une note finale pour leur participation au cours. Le résultat final d’un étudiant se fonde sur les notes obtenues pour sa participation au cours et sur la note obtenue à l’examen final.

Fonctionnement

Après votre inscription, vous pouvez aller chercher vous-même votre manuel au bureau de votre institut régional avant le début du cours. Suivant le nombre d’étudiants et la disponibilité des animateurs, les cours magistraux ne pourront pas toujours être offerts dans toutes les régions. La formation à distance est offerte lorsque les cours ne se donnent pas dans la région.

Communiquez avec votre institut régional ou section pour savoir quels cours magistraux sont offerts, quand et à quel endroit et obtenir les renseignements concernant l’inscription. Si vous avez des questions ou si l’Institut peut vous venir en aide, veuillez vous adresser à l’un de nos conseillers du Service aux membres, soit en composant, sans frais, le 1 866 362-8585, soit en envoyant un courriel à IICmail@insuranceinstitute.ca.

Remarque : Les modalités quant à l’abandon et aux remboursements, dans le cas des cours magistraux, sont soumises aux règles et aux directives de chaque établissement offrant les cours. L’Institut d’assurance retirera l’inscription à un examen et accordera un remboursement si l’avis à cet effet lui parvient avant la date limite d’inscription à cet examen. Le montant remboursé correspondra au montant des frais d’examens, moins 50,00 $, plus la TPS ou la TVH, pour frais administratifs. Aucun remboursement ne sera accordé après la date limite d’inscription aux examens. Les frais d’inscription tardive et d’inscription très tardive ne sont pas remboursables.

Ce qui est inclus

Les frais d’inscription aux cours magistraux comprennent :

• les frais d’examens
• le coût de la scolarité
• le manuel de cours
• le guide de référence de l’étudiant : un cahier d’exercices permettant une autoévaluation (cours obligatoires et cours professionnels appliqués)
• un service de consultation en ligne (cours obligatoires et cours professionnels appliqués)

Veuillez noter que l’adhésion à votre institut régional est obligatoire et s’ajoute aux frais d’inscription au cours.

Notation

Dans tous les cours du programme de PAA (à l’exception des cours de formation à distance), une note est attribuée, sur 100, pour la participation en classe, et l’examen final est noté sur 200. La note attribuée pour la participation en classe se fonde toujours sur un examen de mi-session, noté sur 60, et sur une évaluation faite par l’animateur, en fonction de tests-éclair, de devoirs et de l’assiduité de l’étudiant. Lors du premier cours, votre animateur vous remettra un sommaire du cours et vous expliquera comment il calculera la part de 40 % correspondant à son évaluation.

Vous devez obtenir au moins 55 % à l’examen final, et au moins 180 points lorsque l’on additionne la note obtenue au cours magistral et la note obtenue à l’examen final, pour réussir le cours. Pour obtenir la mention Grande distinction, il faut obtenir un résultat global au cours correspondant à 80 % (240 points), y compris une note d’au moins 160 sur 200 à l’examen final.

Par exemple, si vous obtenez une note de 70 % pour le cours et une note de 106 points à l’examen final, votre résultat final sera de 176 sur 300, soit 59 %. Vous n’obtiendrez pas la note de passage, puisque le total de vos notes sera en-deçà de 180 points. Vous obtiendrez un résultat de « X ».

La note obtenue à un examen de reprise devient la seule note déterminant le résultat final de l’étudiant. Les notes obtenues dans le cadre du cours magistral ne seront pas reportées. Il faut passer les examens de reprise à la session suivante. Pour pouvoir reporter la reprise d’un examen, il faut obtenir une autorisation du registraire. Reportez-vous à la section portant sur les examens pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les reprises.

Formation à distance et cours magistraux : possibilités de transfert

Les instituts d’assurance régionaux dressent un horaire à long terme des cours du programme de PAA afin d’aider les étudiants à planifier leurs études. Toutefois, ces horaires sont susceptibles d’être modifiés si l’on ne réussit pas à trouver un animateur pour un cours donné ou si le nombre d’inscriptions n’est pas suffisant. Pour éviter de perdre la possibilité de passer un examen en raison de telles circonstances, les étudiants peuvent s’inscrire à un cours de formation à distance et, en cours de session, demander un transfert au cours magistral sur le même sujet sans devoir payer de frais d’administration.

Deux conditions doivent toutefois être respectées :

1. L’examen final couronnant le cours magistral doit avoir lieu à la même session que l’examen couronnant le cours de formation à distance.

2. L’étudiant doit acquitter les frais du cours magistral, mais ne sera pas tenu de payer les frais d’examens ni d’acheter le manuel, puisque les frais pour le cours de formation à distance englobent ces deux montants.

L’Institut remboursera en entier la partie des frais du cours de formation à distance payés, applicable au service d’enseignement. Il n’est pas permis de demander qu’un cours magistral soit transféré à la formation à distance. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la possibilité de transfert, communiquez avec notre équipe du Service aux membres

 

 

Have a question about learning options?

Ask the Institute - you'll find the answers to the questions our students ask the most. We're here to help you make the most of your studies and your career in insurance.

 

 

Links to Ask the Institute page