CIP Proud

Graduate stories from the CIP Proud campaign

The CIP Proud campaign was created to celebrate the achievements of our students and graduates. Through the campaign we can speak to students and graduates about the motivations that bring them to us, the highs and lows they experience during the program and the learnings they would offer to future students.

Take a moment to read the stories of CIP graduates striving toward a brighter future.

Navjot Paur, CIP

Account Manager - WBI Home Warranty


IIC: Why did you decide to take the CIP and how does it feel to graduate?

Navjot: While there were several motivations to continue my education, primarily, the CIP program suited both my current position and future aspirations as an insurance professional. It allowed me to gain knowledge of specific aspects of insurance but also helped in further developing my skillset as a business professional.

Earning my CIP gave me a great sense of accomplishment. Achieving an Honours standing in the program at graduation was a proud moment for me and my family. It goes to prove that hard work, ambition, and an aspirational attitude remove all boundaries and obstacles on your way to success.

IIC: What message do you have for anyone in the industry considering getting their CIP?

Navjot: I highly recommend the CIP program for anyone still considering if this is the right roadmap to a successful career in the insurance industry. The depth of material covered, the skills that are developed, and the knowledge you leave with are no less than a standardized university education in my opinion. It unequivocally opens-up a wide variety of opportunities in the industry.

IIC: How did you juggle work, study, personal life while earning your CIP? What tips can you share?

Navjot: Time management and organization of your day are of the utmost importance. One must never lose sight of life’s other aspects. It is only through a balance of all that you can enjoy your life - both personal and professional. The most important tip that I would like to share is to make the CIP class a part of your daily routine. With classes once a week, it is important to touch upon the material regularly.

IIC: Can you detail your CIP journey? What inspired you to continue?

Navjot: I began my career as a broker with the Cooperators, a job I thought would be no more than what it was, a job. Once I became familiar with all the different positions, job roles, and types of insurance, I began to consider this a career. After being hired at ICBC, I realized that I needed to continue to grow as an insurance professional, and the CIP program was the perfect way to achieve that. Being content and happy with my career of choice was motivation to continue to pursue the CIP.

IIC: How do you believe the CIP will help you in your career?

Navjot: The CIP program equipped me with the skillset, knowledge, and a network of individuals that will allow me to continue or, at the very least, provide an opportunity to further my career.

IIC: Can you tell us why you chose to build a career in the insurance industry?

Navjot: The reason I chose to pursue insurance is that the industry is a combination of several other areas of study. As an injury claims adjuster, you are exposed to medical, legal, and engineering. As an agent or broker, you become familiar with underwriting, mathematics and relationship building. As a warranty provider, you get experience with construction and marketing. The insurance industry has something for everyone.

Dhara Desai, CIP

Distribution Services Representative, Co-operators


IIC: Why did you decide to take the CIP and how does it feel to graduate?

Desai: I decided to start working towards my CIP as soon as I realised that I needed profound knowledge of the insurance industry, and by having a CIP designation there will be more and better opportunities in the future for advancement.

I enrolled back in 2019 and completed courses one by one. I felt my knowledge and my confidence levels increase as I progressed, which helped me perform better. My graduation gave me a sense of accomplishment as I completed my designation.

IIC: Earning your CIP during the pandemic must have been challenging. How did you adapt?

Desai: At first, I was worried because my in-person exam was cancelled but soon I realised I was blessed when the Insurance Institute of Canada started online exams. I was so passionate about obtaining my CIP that I grabbed the opportunity and took two courses at a time. Since we were isolated and there was not much to do outside, it gave me more time to study. As a result, I completed my CIP within 3 years.

I appreciate that the Institute made this transition very easy for me.

IIC: Can you detail your CIP journey? What inspired you to continue?

Desai: My CIP journey started back in 2019 just before the pandemic started and the whole world was changed. We adapted to new lifestyles and to fewer activities. More time at home helped me focus. Meanwhile the Institute introduced online exams which helped me use more time towards my studies.

I was motivated by my online class Instructors. They were very helpful and open for any support we needed with learning. All instructors from my courses made learning interesting and their new techniques helped make distance learning feasible and straightforward.

My family helped me a lot during the pandemic and kept me focused and motivated as I completed almost seven courses during the pandemic. By the end of the pandemic, I can proudly say I had completed my CIP.

IIC: How do you believe the CIP will help you in your career?

Desai: I strongly believe that I had better opportunities as soon as I completed my CIP. My CIP is a notable designation on my resume. In addition, the CIP provides intense knowledge which we require in the insurance industry. Also, it helps in understanding every layer of the insurance structure i.e. the Regulators, Insurance Agents, Underwriters and Adjusters.

IIC: What message do you have for anyone in the industry considering getting their CIP?

Desai: I highly recommend those who are in the insurance industry to acquire the CIP designation because it will improve your career prospects.

IIC: Can you tell us why you chose the insurance industry to build your career in?

Desai: I was in a sales role when one of my friends introduced me to insurance. I got my OTL license and started my career as a Licensed Insurance representative. After some time, I wanted to try another role in the industry and with the guidance of my leader and a senior colleague, I decided to pursue my CIP designation. It was a great decision that opened a wide range of opportunities in the insurance industry.

Joel Phillip, CIP, CIC

Commercial Insurance Account Manager, Petrela, Winter & Associates

IIC: Why did you decide to take the CIP and how does it feel to graduate?

Phillip: I decided to take the CIP to immerse myself in the world of insurance and acquire a better understanding of the industry to advance and grow my career. I feel very proud to graduate with my CIP as it gives me a firm foundation to stand on as I progress further in my insurance career. I liken having my CIP to an accountant getting his or her CPA and the level of distinguishment between having that designation versus not having it all.

IIC: Earning your CIP during the pandemic must have been challenging. How did you adapt?

Phillip: I adapted to earning my CIP during the pandemic by doing my best to make the learning experience as close to the in-class experience as possible. I accomplished this by participating in the virtual lectures with questions for my instructor and being as present and attentive as if I were physically in a classroom.

IIC: Can you detail your CIP journey? What inspired you to continue?

Phillip: My CIP journey began in 2018 and I finally completed the program in the spring of 2022. Throughout my CIP journey, I also achieved the Insurance Institute of Canada’s new Commercial Insurance Certificate as an introduction to the world of commercial insurance. This was very important for me as it served as a springboard when I was transitioning from personal lines to commercial lines. The Certificate gave me two elective credits which I was able to apply toward my CIP so it was very practical and useful in that sense. Since the Commercial Insurance Certificate was a three-course program, this extended my CIP over four years. I was very inspired to continue by my wife who pushed me when I didn’t feel like studying and reminded me how close I was to completion. I must also give a shout out to Professor John McNeil who helped me visualize having my CIP and making it a reality.

IIC: How do you believe the CIP will help you in your career?

Phillip: I believe that the CIP marks the beginning of a successful career in the Canadian insurance industry. It will help me to be a trusted advisor to my commercial clients and understand how the industry works. The CIP was very instrumental in conveying the importance of insurance in society at large and how it affects the economy as a whole. I feel more of a sense of purpose working in insurance now that I that I did not have before taking the CIP. Having my CIP will also open the door to more opportunities in the insurance industry.

IIC: What message do you have for anyone in the industry considering getting their CIP?

Phillip: The message that I would have for anyone considering getting their CIP is go for it! If you’re serious about your career and want to make yourself more marketable to employers, having your CIP will definitely support your success.

IIC: Can you tell us why you chose the insurance industry to build your career in?

Phillip: I came into insurance from a sales background that was first developed in the fitness industry and then further progressed in the rental car industry with Enterprise. At the time I was looking for a sales career in a different industry. Like many, you can say that I “fell” into insurance as that is how it felt in the beginning. Once I got exposed to insurance and learned more about what it entails, it became more and more fascinating. My uncle had worked in the reinsurance sector and had me speak with a few of his associations. These conversations really started to pique my curiosity and led me to wanting to learn more; hence taking my CIP. Building my career in the insurance industry has been one of my best decisions, and earning my CIP is just the beginning in an industry that I truly feel is a hidden gem.

Ross Baillie, BCom, CIP

Senior Advisor, Lloyd Saad Insurance Brokers Ltd.


IIC: Why did you decide to take the CIP and how does it feel to graduate?

Ross: I made the decision to pursue the CIP in 2021, and it took me 2.5 years to complete. Graduating from the program feels like a significant achievement, and I'm excited to start the next chapter in my education with the FCIP.

IIC: Earning your CIP on top of work and family responsibilities must have been challenging. What tips do you have for work/life/study balance?

Ross: Navigating the pandemic presented unique challenges, but at Lloyd Sadd we have a culture of collaboration that helped us adapt. Throughout the pandemic, our teams continued to collaborate closely, and this extended to our work on the CIP program. We were able to support each other and work towards our shared educational goals, despite the challenges we faced.

IIC: Can you detail your CIP journey? What inspired you to continue?

Ross: My CIP journey began at home, with my eldest son crawling around in the background. Proctored Exams were interesting, but despite the distractions, I was inspired to continue because I knew that the Risk Management industry would be a part of my career for decades to come. I wanted to continue evolving and enhancing my education so that I could stay ahead of the curve and be successful in my career.

IIC: How do you believe the CIP will help you in your career?

Ross: The collaborative nature of the CIP program has been incredibly valuable to me. Working with others within and outside of Lloyd Sadd, and sharing our thought processes, has been a powerful learning experience. I believe that this collaborative approach is something that will be essential to my success throughout my career.

IIC: What message do you have for anyone in the industry considering getting their CIP?

Ross: I believe that the CIP program is foundational for anyone looking to enhance their skills and advance their career within the insurance industry. The program is progressive, and the materials are comprehensive and engaging. My advice to anyone considering the CIP is to jump in with both feet and embrace the opportunities for growth and development.

IIC: As a recent graduate of both the CIP and CIC programs, can you tell us your thoughts on the newly refreshed C70: Gateway to Commercial Insurance course, offered as part of the CIP program?

Ross: The newly refreshed C70 course is one of my favourites in the CIP program. It has a strong focus on risk management, which is central to Lloyd Sadd's unique approach to the insurance industry. The processes outlined in the course, forms the foundation of our way of thinking. I believe that they will be valuable to anyone working in the commercial insurance sector.

Umie Shalma, CIP

Property Claims Adjuster

IIC: Why did you decide to take the CIP and how does it feel to graduate?

Umie: I decided to start my CIP journey back in 2016. I had only been in the insurance industry for about a year, and I was definitely falling in love with insurance!

IIC: Can you detail your CIP journey? What inspired you to continue?

Umie: It was a difficult journey to be very honest, I had a son who was in the toddler stages and my daughter was starting elementary school. I was working full time as well. During this time, I also went through some personal turmoil in my marriage, but my determination to achieve my CIP designation kept me going strong. I was able to stay focused on my goals and show my kids that if you are determined and focused then any goal is achievable.

IIC: Earning your CIP on top of work and family responsibilities must have been challenging. What tips do you have for work/life/study balance?

Umie: Take time to go through your books and organize your weeks according to the chapters. Each week put aside time to read through and work on the online resources. It does get difficult but if you stay focused then you will be able to achieve the results needed to pass each course successfully. I used to study in the evenings when my family was asleep, this called for a lot of late nights, but it was all worth it in the end.

IIC: How do you believe the CIP will help you in your career?

Umie: The CIP courses are designed to broaden our scope of thinking from our specialized areas of expertise. It helped me understand other aspects of insurance and broaden my knowledge. I went from Automobile Insurance to Property Insurance adjusting. The CIP designation has brought me immense recognition in the industry.

IIC: What message do you have for anyone in the industry considering getting their CIP?

Umie: Do it! You wont regret it, it’s a very fulfilling experience.

IIC: Is there anyone you would like to thank for supporting your education journey?

Umie: I’m extremely grateful for my parents’ support during my CIP journey. They stood by my side during the roughest parts, and kept encouraging me to continue. I would also like to thank my kids as they were a major motivation for me to achieve my CIP designation. A major thank you to my previous employer ICBC for supporting employees in this journey by paying for the courses. Without them I would not have been able to get my CIP designation. The Insurance Institute was also very flexible once COVID hit adapting quickly to the ever-changing environment. I am a CIP graduate and very proud of my journey.

Le titre de PAA, une source de fierté

Histoires de personnes diplômées issues de la campagne « Le titre de PAA, une source de fierté»

La campagne « Le titre de PAA, une source de fierté » a été conçue pour souligner les réalisations des personnes qui suivent nos programmes et de celles qui obtiennent leur diplôme. Grâce à cette campagne, nous parlons à nos étudiants et étudiantes, ainsi qu’à nos diplômés et diplômées, afin de connaître les motivations qui les ont poussés à suivre un programme de formation à l’Institut, les hauts et les bas qu’ils ont connus et les conseils qu’ils donneraient aux personnes qui envisagent de suivre nos programmes.

Prenez le temps de lire le récit du parcours de personnes diplômées du programme de PAA qui s’investissent en vue d’un avenir meilleur.

Navjot Paur, PAA

Directeur de comptes - WBI Home Warranty


IIC : Pour quelles raisons avez-vous décidé d’entreprendre le programme menant au titre de PAA?

Navjot : J’avais plusieurs raisons de vouloir poursuivre ma formation, et le principal avantage du programme de PAA, c’est qu’il était adapté à mes fonctions actuelles ainsi qu’à mes aspirations à titre de professionnel d’assurance. Il m’a permis de développer mes connaissances sur des aspects précis de l’industrie de l’assurance et d’en acquérir d’autres qui m’ont aidé à progresser comme professionnel.

Obtenir le titre de PAA m’a procuré un sentiment de satisfaction, et la mention Grande distinction a été une source de fierté pour moi et ma famille. Ça montre que conjuguer l’ardeur au travail avec l’ambition et les aspirations permet de surmonter tous les obstacles sur la voie du succès.

IIC : Que diriez-vous aux personnes évoluant dans notre industrie qui songent à entreprendre le programme de PAA?

Navjot : Pour toute personne qui y songe et qui y voit le bon moyen d’avoir du succès en assurance, je recommande fortement le PAA. La richesse de la matière qu’on y aborde, les compétences qu’on y développe et les connaissances qu’on y acquiert se comparent avantageusement à celles de n’importe quel cours universitaire, de mon point de vue. Ce qui est certain, c’est que ça ouvre plusieurs portes dans l’industrie de l’assurance.

IIC : Comment êtes-vous parvenu à concilier travail, étude et vie personnelle pendant que vous suiviez le programme de PAA? Quels conseils pourriez-vous nous donner?

Navjot : Bien gérer son temps et être organisé sont cruciaux. Il ne faut jamais négliger les autres volets de sa vie. La clé, c’est de trouver un bon équilibre entre tout ce qu’on aime dans sa vie personnelle et professionnelle. Le meilleur conseil que je pourrais vous donner, c’est de ménager une place à vos cours du PAA dans votre horaire quotidien. Quand on a un cours par semaine, c’est important de revoir régulièrement la matière.

IIC : Parlez-nous de votre parcours pour l'obtention du titre de PAA. Quelle a été votre source de motivation?

Navjot : J’ai commencé ma carrière comme courtier chez the Cooperators, et je vous avouerai qu’au début, je ne considérais ça que comme un emploi, rien de plus. Mais quand j’ai commencé à voir la variété de postes, de fonctions et de types d’assurance qu’il y a dans l’industrie, je me suis mis à me dire que ça pourrait devenir toute ma carrière. Quand j’ai été embauché à l’ICBC, j’ai réalisé que je devais me perfectionner, comme professionnel d’assurance. Et que le PAA était la solution parfaite pour ça. C’est d’être heureux et satisfait de ma carrière qui a été ma source de motivation pour le PAA.

IIC : Selon vous, en quoi le fait de détenir le titre de PAA sera-t-il bénéfique pour votre carrière?

Navjot : Le programme de PAA m’a fait acquérir les compétences, les connaissances et les contacts qui vont me permettre de poursuivre ma carrière ou, à tout le moins, de progresser comme professionnel.

IIC : Pouvez-vous nous dire pourquoi vous avez choisi de faire carrière en assurance?

Navjot : Parce que l’assurance combine plusieurs sphères d’étude. Par exemple, un expert en sinistres spécialisé en dommages corporels est exposé à des notions de médecine, de droit et de génie. En tant qu’agent ou courtier, il faut se familiariser avec la souscription, les mathématiques et les relations interpersonnelles. Vous traitez des engagements formels? Vous devrez vous familiariser avec les secteurs de la construction et le marketing. Il y a vraiment de tout, en assurance.

Dhara Desai, PAA

Représentante, Services de distribution, Co-operators

IIC: Pour quelles raisons avez-vous décidé d’entreprendre le programme menant au titre de PAA, et quel sentiment vous procure le fait d’être diplômé?

Desai: J’ai décidé d’entreprendre le PAA dès que j’ai réalisé qu’il me faudrait avoir une connaissance approfondie de l’industrie de l’assurance, et également que le titre de PAA m’aiderait à obtenir davantage d’occasions – et de meilleures – sur le plan de l’avancement professionnel.

Je me suis inscrite au programme en 2019, et au début, je faisais les cours un à la fois. J’ai constaté que plus j’en apprenais, plus je gagnais en confiance, et mieux je réussissais. Quand j’ai obtenu mon diplôme et mon titre, je me suis sentie fière de ce que j’avais accompli.

IIC: Il a dû être difficile de poursuivre le programme de PAA pendant la pandémie. Qu’avez-vous fait pour vous adapter?

Desai: Au début, quand mon examen en personne a été annulé, ça m’a inquiétée. Mais j’ai vite réalisé que j’étais chanceuse de suivre les cours de l’Institut d’assurance du Canada, qui a commencé à offrir les examens en ligne. Je voulais tellement obtenir mon titre de PAA que je me suis mise à m’inscrire à deux cours par session. La pandémie nous isolait, il n’y avait pas grand-chose à faire à l’extérieur, alors ça me donnait davantage de temps pour étudier. Finalement, j’ai terminé le programme de PAA en trois ans.

Je suis vraiment contente que l’Institut ait autant facilité cette transition.

IIC: Parlez-nous de votre parcours pour l’obtention du titre de PAA. Quelle a été votre source de motivation?

Desai: Mon parcours du PAA a débuté en 2019, tout juste avant que la pandémie bouleverse le monde et nous contraigne à adapter de nouveaux modes de vie et à limiter nos activités. Comme je passais plus de temps à la maison, je pouvais mieux me concentrer sur mes études. Et les examens en ligne de l’Institut m’ont donné plus temps pour étudier.

Les formateurs en ligne m’ont motivée. Ils nous aidaient beaucoup, de toutes sortes de façons, dans notre apprentissage. Dans mes cours, tous les formateurs rendaient l’apprentissage intéressant et utilisaient de nouvelles méthodes pour faciliter et simplifier l’apprentissage à distance.

Ma famille m’a aussi beaucoup aidée à rester concentrée pendant la pandémie. Ça explique que j’ai fait sept cours pendant cette période! Et quand la pandémie a pris fin, j’étais fière d’avoir moi aussi terminé mon programme de PAA!

IIC: Selon vous, en quoi le fait de détenir le titre de PAA sera-t-il bénéfique pour votre carrière?

Desai: S’il y a une chose dont je suis convaincue, c’est que dès que j’ai obtenu mon PAA, de meilleures occasions se sont offertes à moi. C’est un titre qui ajoute beaucoup de valeur à mon CV. Dans le PAA, on acquiert beaucoup de connaissances qui sont requises dans l’industrie de l’assurance. Le programme permet de comprendre tous les grands volets de l’industrie, qu’il s’agisse des organismes de réglementation, ou encore du travail des agents, des souscripteurs et des experts en sinistres.

IIC: Que diriez-vous aux personnes évoluant dans notre industrie qui songent à entreprendre le programme de PAA?

Desai: Que je recommande fortement à quiconque travaille dans l’industrie d’obtenir le titre de PAA, car cela ouvre des portes sur le plan professionnel.

IIC: Pouvez-vous nous dire pourquoi vous avez choisi de faire carrière en assurance?

Desai: Je travaillais en ventes, et une de mes amies m’a parlé de l’assurance. J’ai obtenu mon permis d’agente d’assurance IARD et commencé ma carrière à titre de représentante d’assurance autorisée. Après quelque temps, j’ai voulu m’orienter vers un autre poste dans l’industrie, et sur les conseils de mon gestionnaire et d’une collègue d’expérience, j’ai décidé d’entreprendre le programme de PAA. Ça été une excellente décision – une décision qui m’a ouvert plusieurs portes dans l’industrie de l’assurance.

Raelene O’Neill, PAA

Spécialiste en vente d’assurance, Johnson Insurance

IIC: Pour quelles raisons avez-vous décidé d’entreprendre le programme menant au titre de PAA, et quel sentiment vous procure le fait d’être diplômée?

Raelene: Lorsque j’ai commencé à travailler en assurance, je voulais mieux comprendre les rouages de l’industrie. J’ai aimé apprendre comment toutes les pièces s’imbriquent, de l’établissement des prix au règlement des sinistres. Je suis très heureuse et satisfaite d’avoir obtenu mon titre.

IIC: Il a dû être difficile de poursuivre le programme de PAA pendant la pandémie. Qu’avez-vous fait pour vous adapter?

Raelene: Pendant la pandémie et les confinements, les cours en ligne ont été l’occasion d’interagir avec des pairs et de maintenir un certain niveau de normalité. Comme j’aime me fixer des objectifs et que je n’avais pas grand-chose d’autre à faire, j’ai doublé le nombre de cours suivis. J’ai passé beaucoup de temps à étudier la matière et à faire des tests de révision.

IIC: Parlez-nous de votre parcours pour l’obtention du titre de PAA. Quelle a été votre source de motivation?

Raelene: J’ai commencé le programme lorsqu’une personne a offert un cours sur l’assurance automobile à mon lieu de travail. C’est devenu une excellente façon d’accumuler les heures de formation continue nécessaires au maintien de mon permis. Chaque cours a renforcé mon intérêt à l’égard de différents aspects de l’assurance. J’ai vraiment aimé les cours abordant la souscription, et le cours C16 m’a aidé à comprendre les fondements de l’industrie.

IIC: Selon vous, en quoi le fait de détenir le titre de PAA sera-t-il bénéfique pour votre carrière?

Raelene: L’éducation est toujours un avantage; il n’y a jamais de mauvais moment pour apprendre de nouvelles choses. Le titre de PAA m’aidera à explorer de nouvelles possibilités dans l’industrie.

IIC: Que diriez-vous aux personnes évoluant dans notre industrie qui songent à entreprendre le programme de PAA?

Raelene: Lancez-vous! Osez commettre des erreurs. Ne vous laissez pas intimider par la possibilité d’un échec. Sortez de votre zone de confort et épanouissez-vous.

IIC: Pouvez-vous nous dire pourquoi vous avez choisi de faire carrière en assurance?

Raelene: L’assurance s’est révélée une excellente carrière pour moi. Je suis peut-être entrée dans l’industrie par chance, mais je choisis d’y rester par choix.

Ross Baillie, BCom, PAA

Conseiller principal, Lloyd Saad Insurance Brokers Ltd.

IIC: Pour quelles raisons avez-vous décidé d’entreprendre le programme menant au titre de PAA, et quel sentiment vous procure le fait d’être diplômé?

Ross: J’ai pris la décision de m’inscrire au PAA en 2021, et il m’a fallu deux ans et demi pour le terminer. Le diplôme de PAA, je le considère comme une réalisation majeure. Et c’est avec enthousiasme que j’entreprends la prochaine étape de ma formation et que je commence le programme de FPAA.

IIC: Il a dû être difficile de poursuivre le programme de PAA pendant la pandémie. Qu’avez-vous fait pour vous adapter?

Ross: La pandémie a présenté des défis particuliers, mais chez Lloyd Sadd, la culture de collaboration nous a beaucoup aidés à nous adapter. Les équipes ont continué à collaborer étroitement, et cet esprit d’entraide s’est étendu au travail requis par le programme de PAA et à nos objectifs d’apprentissage communs. Il nous a permis de relever les défis de la pandémie.

IIC: Parlez-nous de votre parcours pour l’obtention du titre de PAA. Quelle a été votre source de motivation?

Ross: Mon parcours, je l’ai commencé chez moi, alors que mon fils aîné apprenait à se déplacer en rampant! Les examens en télésurveillance ont constitué une belle solution, et en dépit de toutes les distractions, je n’ai pas lâché, car je savais que la gestion des risques tiendrait une place importante dans ma carrière. Je voulais continuer d’évoluer et de parfaire mes connaissances. Je savais que rester à la fine pointe des connaissances allait m’aider à connaître du succès professionnel.

IIC: Selon vous, en quoi le fait de détenir le titre de PAA sera-t-il bénéfique pour votre carrière?

Ross: L’apprentissage collaboratif qui caractérise le programme de PAA a énormément de valeur à mes yeux. Il m’a permis de travailler avec des collègues ainsi que des pairs d’autres compagnies que Lloyd Sadd et d’échanger avec eux sur nos façons de faire. Le PAA a été une formidable expérience d’apprentissage. Je crois que cette approche collaborative sera une clé du succès sur le plan professionnel.

IIC: Que diriez-vous aux personnes évoluant dans notre industrie qui songent à entreprendre le programme de PAA?

Ross: À mes yeux, le PAA est un programme fondamental pour quiconque veut développer ses compétences et faire avancer sa carrière en assurance. Le programme est progressif, le contenu est riche et intéressant. Ce que je dirais à ceux et celles qui veulent l’entreprendre, c’est d’y aller sans hésiter et de saisir toutes les occasions de perfectionnement que le PAA offre.

IIC: En tant que nouveau diplômé des programmes de PAA et du certificat en assurance des entreprises, que pensez-vous de la toute nouvelle version du cours C70 – Introduction à l’assurance des entreprises, offert dans le cadre du PAA?

Ross: Cette nouvelle mise à jour du C70 a été l’un de mes cours préférés du PAA. Il met beaucoup l’accent sur la gestion des risques, qui est au cœur de l’approche unique que Lloyd Sadd applique dans l’industrie de l’assurance. Les processus décrits dans le cours sont la base même de notre façon de penser. Je pense qu’ils seront utiles à quiconque travaille en assurance des entreprises.

Umie Shalma, PAA

Experte en sinistres, assurance des biens

IIC: Pour quelles raisons avez-vous décidé d’entreprendre le programme menant au titre de PAA?

Umie: J’ai décidé d’entreprendre le programme de PAA en 2016. Je ne travaillais en assurance que depuis environ un an, mais je voyais déjà que l’assurance me passionnerait!

IIC: Parlez-nous de votre parcours pour l’obtention du titre de PAA. Quelle a été votre source de motivation?

Umie: Pour être honnête, ça n’a pas été facile. J’ai un fils qui n’était qu’un poupon à l’époque, et ma fille commençait l’école primaire. Et je travaillais à temps plein! C’est aussi une période où j’ai vécu des difficultés de couple, mais j’étais déterminée à obtenir mon titre de PAA. J’ai réussi à rester concentrée sur mes objectifs, et j’ai montré à mes enfants qu’à force de détermination, n’importe quel objectif est réalisable.

IIC: Il a dû être difficile de poursuivre le programme de PAA tout en conciliant vos obligations professionnelles et familiales. Quels conseils donneriez-vous aux gens pour réussir à conjuguer travail, famille et études?

Umie: Prenez le temps de parcourir les manuels et d’organiser vos semaines en fonction des diverses leçons. Réservez du temps chaque semaine pour faire vos lectures et utiliser les ressources en ligne. On va se le dire, ce n’est pas facile. Mais en restant concentrée sur l’objectif, on arrive à obtenir les résultats nécessaires pour réussir chaque cours. J’avais pris l’habitude d’étudier le soir, quand tout le monde était couché. Ça finissait souvent tard, mais au bout du compte, ça a valu la peine.

IIC: Selon vous, en quoi le fait de détenir le titre de PAA sera-t-il bénéfique pour votre carrière?

Umie: Les cours du PAA sont conçus pour élargir nos horizons au-delà de notre champ d’expertise. Ils m’ont aidée à comprendre d’autres aspects de l’assurance et à approfondir mes connaissances. Je suis d’ailleurs passée de l’expertise des sinistres automobiles à l’expertise des sinistres touchant les biens. Le titre de PAA m’a apporté énormément de reconnaissance dans l’industrie.

IIC: Que diriez-vous aux personnes évoluant dans notre industrie qui songent à entreprendre le programme de PAA?

Umie: N’hésitez pas à le faire : vous ne le regretterez pas, c’est une expérience très enrichissante.

IIC: Y a-t-il des personnes que vous souhaiteriez remercier pour leur soutien tout au long de votre parcours de formation?

Umie: Je suis très reconnaissante à mes parents de tout le soutien qu’ils m’ont accordé pendant mon parcours du PAA. Ils m’ont encouragée à ne pas lâcher pendant les périodes les plus difficiles. J’aimerais aussi remercier mes enfants, car ils m’ont vraiment motivée à obtenir mon titre de PAA. Merci aussi à mon ancien employeur, l’ICBC, qui appuie ses employés qui suivent le programme en payant leurs cours. Sans cette aide, je n’aurais pas pu obtenir le titre de PAA. Enfin, l’Institut d’assurance s’est montré très souple lorsque la pandémie a frappé et a réussi à s’adapter rapidement à un contexte en constante évolution. Je suis une diplômée du programme de PAA, et je suis très fière de mon parcours.