About the Council

The Council is responsible for furthering our mission of advancing the insurance profession in Northern Alberta through education, professional development and personal growth. All council members generously give their time, expertise, skills and knowledge. These volunteers are indispensable to our governance as their contributions directly impact the success of all of the activities, events and seminars we organize. The Executive Committee is elected for a one-year mandate, renewable for two years. Only members in good standing can be appointed to the Council.

If you would like to make a difference and give back to the insurance industry, contact the Institute for more information on the Council and other volunteer opportunities: IINAmail@insuranceinstitute.ca

Council Members

Executive Committee

David Sorensen, FCIP
Government of Alberta

Executive Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer
Ryan Yarmuch,  FCIP
Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company

Vice President – Academic Division
Amanda Sawatzky, CIP
Allstate Insurance Company of Canada

Vice President – Professional Division
Pamela Sullivan, CIP
Intact Insurance

Past President
Chad Shurnaik, Bcomm, FCIP, CRM
Peace Hills General Insurance Company

Seminars Committee

Dillon Johnson, FCIP
Northbridge General Insurance Company

Clinton Broeksma, FCIP
Intact Insurance Company

Education Committee

Nicholas Fonseca, MBA, BSB, CIP

Eugene Park
Alberta Motor Association Insurance Company


Bonnie Kluthe, FCIP
AgPro Insurance

Halie Wispinski FCIP
Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company


Nicholas Fonseca, MBA, BSB, CIP

Dustin Harvey


Barb Perkins, CPC
Perkins Professional Search

Teresa Costouros, MBA, FCIP, CRM
MacEwan University

Learn more about the Council and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the Institute Manager:

Dawn Horne
204, 10109 - 106 Street, NW
Edmonton, AB T5J 3L7
(t) 780-424-1268 (e) IINAmail@insuranceinstitute.ca