About the IISA Governing Council

The volunteer Governing Council of the Insurance Institute of Southern Alberta is responsible for furthering the Institute's mission of advancing the careers of insurance professionals through education, professional development, and personal growth. All Council members generously give their time, expertise, skills, and knowledge. These volunteers are indispensable to our governance as their contributions directly impact the success of all of the activities, events, and seminars we organize. The Executive Committee is elected for a two-year mandate and other Committee roles for a one-year mandate. Only members in good standing can be elected to the Council.

The IISA Council also encourages the involvement of other interested individuals in a non-elected capacity. Called "Committee Invitees", these individuals also volunteer their time to assist with the various committee functions.

If you would like to make a difference and give back to the insurance industry, contact the Institute for more information on the Council and other volunteer opportunities: IISAmail@insuranceinstitute.ca

AGM 2022/2023 - Governing Council Members

Executive Committee

Christa Cole, CIP - The Co-operators

Vice President – Academic Division
Darius Delon, MBA, FCIP, CRM - Risk Management 101

Vice President – Professionals Division
Anthony Lim, BA, FCIP, CRM - Peace Hills General Insurance

Heather McKim, CIP - Toole Peet Insurance  

Past President
Randy Fulton, CIP, CLA - Crawford 

Education Committee

Co-Chair Shannon Wheeliker, CAIB -Westland Insurance Group
Co-Chair Dylan Pinter-Findlater, CIP, CRM - Intact Insurance
Member George Cooper, CIP - Alberta Fire & Flood
Member Hillaine McCaffrey, CIP, CRM - Rogers Insurance
Member Michael Sarnecki, BCOM, CIP - BrokerLink Inc.
Member Michael Hurd, CIP, CRM - The Co-operators
Member Tarek Younan - Link Insurance 

Bylaw Committee

Chair Ken De Decker, CIP, CRM 
Member Daniel Etsaghara, BSc, CIP, CRM  - Litco Law

Seminar Committee 

Co-Chair  Mark Petrowich, BA, FCIP, CRM - Intact Insurance 
Co-Chair Kim Philps, ACIP - Wawanesa
Member David Best, CIP - SGI Canada
Member Janet Barriage, BA, CIP - Premier Group of Companies
Member Karen Roller, CIP - Nude Solutions
Member Ken De Decker, CIP, CRM"
Member Dave Latham, FCIP - Central Alberta Adjusters
Member Larry Erhardt, BA, CIP - Peace Hills General Insurance
Member Sandra St.Jules, CIP - Gallagher Energy Risk Services 

Special Events Committee

Chair Michael Moorman, CIP - ClaimsPro 
Member Patrick Deshane, CIP - TD Insurance
Member Darren Lohnes, BBA, FCIP, CRM -Economical Insurance
Member Robin Mills, CIP, CIOP - Alberta Motor Association Insurance Co. 
Member Brandon Bierback - A-Win Insurance 

Symposium Committee

Chair Darren Lohnes, BBA, FCIP, CRM - Avenue Living Asset Management
Member Ken De Decker, CIP, CRM 


Lethbridge Champion
Robin Mills, CIP, CIOP - Alberta Motor Association Insurance Co.

Medicine Hat Champion

Red Deer Champion
Dave Latham, BA, FCIP - Central Alberta Adjusters

In addition to our elected Governing Council as detailed above, a number of additional industry professionals volunteer their time as Committee Invitees (non-elected and non-voting) to further the efforts of the Institute.  Below is a listing of Committee Invitees as at June 12, 2022. If you are interested in becoming a Committee Invitee, please let us know at any time!

Committee Invitees (non-elected and non-voting)

Daniel Etsaghara, BS.c.(Hons), CIP , CRM -Litco Law
Michael Hurd, CIP, CRM - Sovereign General Insurance
Sandra St Jules, CIP -Gallagher Energy Risk Services
Kym MacFarlane - Intact Insurance
Tarek Younan -Link Insurance
Larry Erhardt, BA, CIP  - Peace Hills General Insurance 
Robin Mills, CIP, CIOP - Alberta Motor Association Insurance Co.
Dave Latham, BA, FCIP - Central Alberta Adjusters
Brandon Bierback - A-Win Insurance

Ex Officio (Post-Secondary Invitees)

Martin Halek, Ph.D. - University of Calgary
Crystal Samela, MBA - Bow Valley College 

Learn more about the Council and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the Institute:

Seti Mazaheri, BA, FCIP,  IISA Manager 
(t) 403-266-3427 (e) smazaheri@insuranceinstitute.ca