About the Council

The Council is responsible for furthering our mission of advancing the insurance profession in the Ottawa region through education, professional development and personal growth. All council members generously give their time, expertise, skills and knowledge. These volunteers provide strategic direction as their contributions directly impact the success of all of the activities, events and seminars we organize. The Executive Committee is elected for a one-year mandate, renewable for two years. Only members in good standing can be elected to the Council.

Council Members 

Executive Committee

Chapter Chair
Hillary Scaffidi, FCIP, CRM, CAIB, CSIP 
Rhodes and Williams

Vice Chair - Professional
Woody Lee, FCIP, CRM
Intact Insurance

Vice Chair - Academic
Isabelle Tanguay, CIP 

Thomas Watson, CIP 
Guardsman Insurance

Past Chair
Susan Farrell, FCIP, CRM, CAIB 
Risk Balance Inc.


Paul Allen, CIP

Tanya Beauchamp, FCIP, CRM
Encon Group

Simon Carter, CIP
The Co-operators

Christina Foster, CIP, CAIB
Marsh Canada Ltd.

Michael Karam, CIP
Economical Insurance

Cathy Laurin, FCIP
Intact Insurance

Dave McLaughlin, CIP
Grenville Mutual

Tanya Piche, CIP
Desjardins Insurance

Greg Strahl, CIP
Palladium Insurance Group

Eric Stroud, CIP, CRM
Aviva Canada

Lijia Wang, CIP, CRM
Aon Risk Solutions

Paul Wanamaker, CIP
Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company

Learn more about the Council and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the Chapter office: 

1419 Carling Avenue
Suite 201
Ottawa, ON
K1Z 7L6

Phone: 613-722-7870
Email: ottawamail@insuranceinstitute.ca