About the Committees

The Committees are responsible for furthering our mission of advancing the insurance profession in the region through education, professional development and personal growth. All committee members generously give their time, expertise, skills and knowledge. These volunteers are indispensable to our governance as their contributions directly impact the success of all of the activities, events and seminars we organize. Members are elected for a one-year mandate, renewable for two years.

If you would like to make a difference and give back to the insurance industry, contact the Greater Toronto Area office for more information on Committees and other volunteer opportunities: GTAmail@insuranceinstitute.ca

Academic Committee

J. Gregory Knowles, FCIP
HUB International HKMB Limited

Scott Campbell, MBA, CIP
Pembridge Insurance Company

John Ilias, CIP
CAA Insurance

Lynn Whitehead, CIP, CRM
TD Insurance

Faculty Sub-Committee

John Ilias, BA, CIP
CAA Insurance

Camille Alexander, FCIP, CRM
Gallagher Bassett Canada Inc.

Elaine Chong, FCIP
TD Insurance

Gail Griffith
Desjardins Insurance

Shannon Nicholson, CIP
Everest Reinsurance Company

Thomas Irwin, FCIP
Markel Canada Limited

Vangie Artes, FCIP
Northbridge Insurance

Seminar Sub-Committee

Roman Swatschuk, BA, CIP
Heartland Farm Mutual Inc.

Alex Guthrie, CAIB
Guthrie Insurance Brokers Ltd.

Luis Mesia, B.Eng, MBA, CIP
APOLLO Insurance

Maria Pagliaro, BA, CIP
Desjardins Insurance

Patrick Hogan, BComm (Hons), FCIP
Cornell Insurance Brokers Ltd.

Sharon Cameron, BA, FCIP, CRM
Cameron & Associates

Valda Jackson, FCIP, CRM
Allstate Insurance Co. of Canada 

Vlad Koltchine, Msc, CIP
The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company

Special Events Sub-Committee

Lynn Whitehead, CIP, CRM
TD Insurance

Eric Amodeo, FCIP
SCOR Canada Reinsurance Company

Cheryl Barker
AON Reed Stenhouse Inc.

Jennifer Edgar, FCIP
AON Benfield

John Game, CIP
Sirius America Insurance Company

Justin Sheldon, CIP
Berkley Canada

Ashley Davies, RKN
Intact Insurance Company

John E. Lowes Committee

Dave Shibatani, BA, FCIP


Tia Becker, CIP
Can-Sure Underwriting

Emily Feindel
AIG Insurance Company of Canada

Jaime Foss, FCIP 
Swiss Reinsurance Company of Canada

Michael Boodhoo, CIP

Christina Martin, CIP, CAIB, CRM
RRJ Insurance Group Ltd.

Andrea Powell, FCIP
Sovereign General Insurance Co.

CIP Society Ontario Council

Vice President, Professional’s Division
Greg Smith, MBA, FCIP, CRM
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.

Ashley Davies, RKN
Intact Insurance Company

Victor Dhir, FCIP, CRM

Gavin Mascarenhas, CIP
Travelers Canada

CIP Society Symposium Sub-Committee

Elizabeth Adamson, FCIP, CRM
Willis Towers Watson

Jaime Yoon, FCIP, CRM
Aviva Canada Inc.


Jessica Coburn, MBA, CIP, CPCU, CRM
Guy Carpenter, Canada

Denise Hall
Aon Reed Stenhouse Inc. 

Brad Keeling, FCIP
Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Co.

Roxane Modeste, BA, FCIP, CRM
Stewart Specialty Risk Underwriting Ltd. 

Bruce Palmer, MBA, FCIP, CRM
Pro-Demnity Insurance Company

Greg Smith, MBA, FCIP, CRM
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.

Learn more about the Committees and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the Greater Toronto Area office:

Livia Tersigni - Senior Manager, GTA Chapter
18 King Street East, 16th Floor, Toronto, ON M5C 1C4
(t) 416-362-8586 (e) GTAmail@insuranceinstitute.ca