About the Council

The Council is responsible for furthering our mission of advancing the insurance profession in the region through education, professional development, and personal growth. All council members generously give their time, expertise, skills and knowledge. These volunteers are indispensable to our governance as their contributions directly impact the success of all of the activities, events and seminars we organize. The Executive Committee is elected for a one-year mandate, renewable for two years. Only members in good standing can be appointed to the Council.

If you would like to make a difference and give back to the insurance industry, contact the Chapter for more information on the Council and other volunteer opportunities: conestogamail@insuranceinstitute.ca  

Council Members 2021-2022

Executive Committee


Alana Halapija, FCIP, CRM, PMP 
Intact Insurance Company


Vice-Chair - Academic 
Jordan Bilkas, MBA, CIP
Cowan Insurance Group Ltd.


Vice-Chair - Professional 
Weslee Simpson, CIP
Economical Insurance


Scott Chartrand, CPA, CA 
The Co-operators


Past Chair

Jennifer Virley, MBA, FCIP, PMP
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.


Special Events
Christine Senior, CIP, CRM, CAIB, ICP
Ontario Mutual Insurance Association



Kate Battler, CIP
Winmar Property Restoration Specialists


Anne Fioravanti, BA (Hons), CIP



Cindy Cheung, CIP


Preston Hall, MSc
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.


Monica Kuzyk, FCIP, CRM, ORMP
Curo Claims Services 


Rocco Neglia, BA (Hons), CIP
Heartland Farm Mutual Inc.


Daniel Strigberger, LLB
Strigberger Brown Armstrong LLP


Sam Vadera, BComm. 

Trillium Mutual 


Lisa Wetzler, CIP, BA
Cowan Insurance Group

Learn more about the Council and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the Chapter Manager:

Heather Graham, BEd, FCIP
101-515 Riverbend Drive, Kitchener, ON N2K 3S3
(t) 519-579-0184 (e) Conestogamail@insuranceinstitute.ca