About the Governing Council

The Governing Council is made up of ten industry leaders from across Ontario. These individuals are indispensable to our governance as they provide strategic direction that significantly impacts the success of the Insurance Institute of Ontario (IIO). These industry professionals oversee the academic, business, and student affairs of the IIO. All council members generously give their time, expertise, skills and knowledge.

Only CIP Society members in good standing can be appointed to the Council.

Notice of incoming council

Below is the slate of Directors that will be put forward for election at the Insurance Institute of Ontario’s June 29th, 2023, 10:00 a.m. Annual General Meeting to be held at 18 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario.

View Incoming Council

Council Members 2023 - 2024

Executive Committee

Andrew Steen, CIP
Berkley Canada

Deputy President
Tracy Krunic, BBA, FCIP
Intact Insurance

Senior Vice President
Melanie Muise, BScMath, MBA, FCIP

Greg Smith, MBA, FCIP, CRM
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.

Danny Da Costa
Intact Insurance

Vice President - Academic Division
J. Gregory Knowles, FCIP
Totten Group

Vice President - Professionals' Division
Lynn Whitehead, CIP, CRM, ACIP
TD Insurance

Vice President - Regional Division
Lissa Seguin, FCIP
The Co-operators

Past President
Dave Smiley, Bsc, FCIP
Ecclesiastical Canada

General Manager
Peter Hohman, MBA, FCIP, ICD.D
The Insurance Institute of Canada


Margaret Wasserman, BSc (Hons.), CIP
VP, Operations, Insurance Institute of Canada

Harry Vizl, CPA, CA
Director, Finance, Insurance Institute of Canada

Vlad Koltchine, MSc, CIP, P.Mgr, FIMS
Senior Director, Insurance Institute of Ontario

Learn more about the Governing Council and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the Insurance Institute of Ontario:

18 King St East, 16th Floor, Toronto, ON M5C 1C4
(t) 416-362-8586 (e) IIOmail@insuranceinstitute.ca