About the Council

The Council is responsible for furthering our mission of advancing the insurance profession in Manitoba through education, professional development, and personal growth. All council members generously give their time, expertise, skills, and knowledge. These volunteers are indispensable to our governance as their contributions directly impact the success of all the activities, events, and seminars we organize. The Executive Committee is elected for a one-year mandate, renewable for two years. Only members in good standing can be appointed to the Council.

Council Members

Executive Committee 

Jennifer Tougas, FCIP, CRM
Intact Insurance

Vice President (Academic)
Jennifer Scott, BFA, CIP
Manitoba Public Insurance

Vice President (Professional)
Morgan Mackenzie, Bus. Admin, CIP, CAIB
Western Financial Group Insurance Solutions

Past President
Joanne Hampson, FCIP
Wawanesa Mutual Insurance, Retired

Secretary Treasurer
Patrick Lien, CIP, CRM, CAIB
Milnco Insurance Broker Solution Centre

Council Members 

Glen Forkheim, CIP
Wawanesa Mutual Insurance

Laurel Gaspar, CIP
Manitoba Public Insurance

Mitchell Gusway, CIP
Farmers Edge

Charlene Henderson, CIP
Red River Mutual Insurance

Rebecca Holm, CIP, CAIB (Hons.)
Western Financial Group Insurance Solutions

Brad Obirek, BAA, CFEI, CIP
Centra Claims Management Inc.

Lori Penner, CIP
Portage Mutual Insurance

Jamie Taronno, CAIB
Wawanesa Mutual Insurance

Student Representative: Ronald Tokar
Manitoba Public Insurance

Learn more about the Council and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the local manager:

Sabrina Wang, BBA, CIP, CAIB
(t) 204-956-1702
(e) swang@insuranceinstitute.ca